Planet Rugby

Saracens

Saracens

Saracens lose Joubert for season

09th April 2014 18:25

Share:

ernst joubert saracens

Knee surgery: Ernst Joubert

Saracens will be without number eight Ernst Joubert for the rest of the season following his injury in the Heineken Cup win over Ulster.

The South African forward underwent knee surgery on Thursday.

Other injury concerns for Saracens include Scotland centre Duncan Taylor and England full-back Alex Goode, with boss Mark McCall stating the club would be taking no risks with Goode's concussion.

"We've lost three important players and that's because of the nature of these games unfortunately," said McCall.

"Alex is OK, but we'll see how he goes. He was pretty shaken up afterwards.

"We're not going to take any gamble now with Alex, his health is far too important. It's highly unlikely he'll play this weekend.

"He could have got a serious neck injury given the way he fell."

Some good news for Saracens was the return of number eight Billy Vunipola from injury against Ulster, with McCall impressed by his performance.

"I thought Billy was wonderful given he only had four weeks off. He was magnificent."

  • Saracens Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , September 27
Saracens vs Sale15:00
Friday , October 3
Bath vs Saracens19:45
Saturday , October 11
Saracens vs Gloucester15:00
Saturday , November 15
Leicester vs Saracens15:00
Saturday , November 22
Saracens vs Northampton15:00
Saturday , November 29
Exeter vs Saracens16:30
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 18
Saracens vs Clermont Auvergne15:15
Friday , October 24
Munster vs Saracens19:45
Saturday , December 6
Sale vs SaracensTBC
Saturday , December 13
Saracens vs SaleTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
  • Saracens Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , September 20
London Irish 32 - 36 SaracensLondon Irish vs Saracens Report
Friday , September 12
Harlequins 0 - 39 SaracensHarlequins vs Saracens Report
Saturday , September 6
Saracens 34 - 28 Wasps
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
1Bath314
2Saracens313
3Exeter310
4Leicester Tigers39
5Harlequins38