Planet Rugby

Saracens

Saracens

Goode had 30 seconds to adjust

01st March 2014 09:30

Share:

alex goode saracens bath

Flexible: Alex Goode

Saracens stand-in number ten Alex Goode learned of his switch from full-back to fly-half only 30 seconds before kickoff against Bath.

The England international put in an excellent performance in the number ten channel, adding a well-executed drop goal and steering the league leaders to a 23-10 win.

The victory moves Saracens back up to the top of the Aviva Premiership, with head coach Mark McCall hailing Goode's composure and versatility after coming in for a sick Charlie Hodgson at the last minute.

"This week was a five-day turnaround too and we got Alex Goode back from England only on Wednesday. He was getting ready to play full-back tonight and with 30 seconds to go, he's asked to play fly-half," revealed McCall.

"He did an amazing job and we had to re-adjust a lot of people. The team put those setbacks behind them and just rolled up their sleeves. It was a great performance.

"Alex hasn't been at the club for four or five weeks, apart from a couple of days.

"Charlie was feeling really dizzy and light-headed. It would have been wrong to expose him to a game like this."

"To have to step in and play fly-half against a really good team in a big atmosphere, in a big game, and do what he did, was pretty special."

Tries from Chris Wyles and David Strettle set Saracens on their way, with even a yellow card for Wyles and Jacques Burger not enough to prevent the win.

"We are very satisfied. I thought the effort was extraordinary, the way they fought for each other. From minute one to minute 80 it was a brilliant team effort," added McCall.

  • Saracens Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , November 16
Leicester vs Saracens13:00
Sunday , November 23
Saracens vs Northampton13:00
Saturday , November 29
Exeter vs Saracens16:30
Saturday , December 20
Saracens vs London Welsh15:00
Saturday , December 27
Newcastle vs Saracens15:00
Saturday , January 3
Saracens vs London Irish15:00
Saturday , January 10
Gloucester vs Saracens15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , December 6
Sale vs Saracens13:00
Saturday , December 13
Saracens vs Sale17:15
Saturday , January 17
Saracens vs MunsterTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
  • Saracens Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Friday , October 24
Munster 14 - 3 SaracensMunster vs Saracens Report
Saturday , October 18
Saracens 30 - 23 Clermont AuvergneSaracens vs Clermont Auvergne Report
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , October 11
Saracens 28 - 21 GloucesterSaracens vs Gloucester Report
Friday , October 3
Bath 21 - 11 Saracens
Saturday , September 27
Saracens 40 - 19 Sale Sharks
Saturday , September 20
London Irish 32 - 36 Saracens
Friday , September 12
Harlequins 0 - 39 Saracens
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
1Northampton625
2Saracens622
3Exeter620
4Bath620
5Wasps615