Planet Rugby

Saracens

Saracens

Saracens scrape past Blues

27th January 2013 17:28

Share:

Saracens v Cardiff Blues Adam Powell Owen Williams

Sarries: Beat the Blues

Saracens pivot Nils Mordt helped Saracens to a narrow 19-11 LV= Cup win over Cardiff Blues at Allianz Park on Sunday.

The Blues led 8-6 at the interval, thanks to a try by number eight Robin Copeland and a Ceri Sweeney penalty, with Mordt providing all the points for Saracens.

In the second half, Mordt made the most of his opportunity whilst Owen Farrell is on England duty by booting the hosts in front with less ten minutes of the match remaining.

Saracens wing James Short then crossed the whitewash for a late five-pointer that was dualy converted by Mordt to seal the deal.

The scorers:

For Saracens:
Try: Short
Con: Mordt
Pens: Mordt 4

For Cardiff Blues:
Try: Copeland
Pens: Sweeney, Davies

Saracens: 15 Alex Goode, 14 Joe Maddock, 13 Duncan Taylor, 12 Adam Powell, 11 James Short, 10 Nils Mordt (c), 9 Ben Spencer, 8 Tom Jubb, 7 Nick Fenton-Wells, 6 Maro Itoje, 5 Mouritz Botha, 4 Eoin Sheriff, 3 Carlos Nieto, 2 Jamie George, 1 Nick Auterac.
Replacements: 16 John Smit, 17 Darren Fearn, 18 Petrus du Plessis, 19 Alistair Hargreaves, 20 Justin Melck, 21 Ali Price, 22 Sam Stanley, 23 Jack Wilson.

Cardiff Blues: 15 Jason Tovey, 14 Owen Williams, 13 Gavin Evans (c), 12 Dafydd Hewitt, 11 Harry Robinson, 10 Ceri Sweeney, 9 Lewis Jones, 8 Robin Copeland, 7 Rory Watts-Jones, 6 Luke Hamilton, 5 Macauley Cook, 4 Michael Paterson, 3 Beniot Bourrust, 2 Kristian Dacey, 1 Sam Hobbs.
Replacements: 16 Rhys Williams, 17 Nathan Trevett, 18 Taufa'ao Filise, 19 Cory Hill, 20 Thomas Young, 21 Alex Walker, 22 Gareth Davies, 23 Tom Williams.

Referee: Rhys Thomas (Wales)

  • Saracens Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , November 23
Saracens vs NorthamptonSaracens vs Northampton Preview
Saturday , November 29
Exeter vs Saracens16:30
Saturday , December 20
Saracens vs London Welsh15:00
Saturday , December 27
Newcastle vs Saracens15:00
Saturday , January 3
Saracens vs London Irish15:00
Saturday , January 10
Gloucester vs Saracens15:00
Sunday , February 15
Saracens vs Bath15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , December 6
Sale vs Saracens13:00
Saturday , December 13
Saracens vs Sale17:15
Saturday , January 17
Saracens vs MunsterTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
  • Saracens Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , November 16
Leicester Tigers 21 - 21 SaracensLeicester Tigers vs Saracens Report
More Aviva Premiership results
LV= Cup
Friday , November 7
Ospreys 9 - 21 Saracens
Sunday , November 2
Saracens 25 - 20 HarlequinsSaracens vs Harlequins Report
More LV= Cup results
European Rugby Champions Cup
Friday , October 24
Munster 14 - 3 Saracens
Saturday , October 18
Saracens 30 - 23 Clermont Auvergne
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , October 11
Saracens 28 - 21 Gloucester
Friday , October 3
Bath 21 - 11 Saracens
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
2Exeter724
3Bath724
4Saracens724
5Wasps720
6Sale Sharks820