Planet Rugby

Sale

Sale

Sale "fought like dogs" - Diamond

29th March 2014 06:57

Share:

SKY_MOBILE Steve Diamond Sale Aviva Premiership

Resilient: Steve Diamond

Sale boss Steve Diamond was delighted to see his squad overcome some difficult preparations to secure a one-point win over Bath.

The surprise package of the season after battling relegation this time last year, Sale are now 5th and three points behind Leicester Tigers as they chase a playoff spot.

The Sharks were made to work extremely hard in defence, especially during a drawn out period of scrums deep back on their own line when replacement tighthead Henry Thomas was sin-binned after persistent penalties.

"If you've got that much ball in that situation the onus is on the attacking side to do something with it," said Diamond.

"All we can do is defend as best we can.

"I think Henry (Thomas) was unlucky to get a yellow card - it was just a slip. I don't think the scrums went back. On another day with another referee, you never know - but it didn't happen, did it?"

Sale lost key players in Mark Cueto and Daniel Braid before the kickoff, following a tricky journey on the road down to the Rec the day before.

"We had a 10-hour journey down yesterday on the M6 and then we had our two senior players - Mark Cueto and Dan Braid - cry off in the team run, so we had our backs against the wall," added Diamond.

"As we've proved time and time again, we fought like dogs and got the result.

"Danny Cipriani and Dwayne Peel are good players. Our defence has been good all year. We managed to control their midfield, who run everything, but they ran into a white wall.

"We managed to get the spoils from either turnovers or penalties and edged our way in front."

  • Sale Sharks Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , November 15
Sale vs London Irish14:00
Friday , November 21
Harlequins vs Sale19:45
Sunday , November 30
Newcastle vs Sale15:15
Saturday , December 20
Sale vs Exeter14:00
Saturday , December 27
Sale vs Leicester14:00
Sunday , January 4
Wasps vs Sale14:00
Saturday , January 10
Sale vs Northampton14:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
European Rugby Champions Cup
Sunday , October 26
Clermont Auvergne vs Sale Sharks15:15
Saturday , December 6
Sale vs Saracens13:00
Saturday , December 13
Saracens vs Sale17:15
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
  • Sale Sharks Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 18
Sale Sharks 26 - 27 MunsterSale Sharks vs Munster Report
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , October 11
Northampton 43 - 10 Sale SharksNorthampton vs Sale Sharks Report
Sunday , October 5
Sale 25 - 14 WaspsSale vs Wasps Report
Saturday , September 27
Saracens 40 - 19 Sale Sharks
Saturday , September 20
Sale 46 - 8 London Welsh
Saturday , September 13
Gloucester 34 - 27 Sale Sharks
Saturday , September 6
Sale Sharks 20 - 29 Bath
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
8Leicester Tigers614
9London Irish612
10Sale Sharks611
11Newcastle Falcons69
12London Welsh61