Planet Rugby

Sale

Sale

Preview: Oyonnax v Sale Sharks

04th December 2013 12:01

Share:

Nick Macleod for Sale Sharks

Fly-half: Nick Macleod

Sale Sharks have announced a line-up missing Danny Cipriani for their Amlin Challenge Cup clash with Oyonnax at Stade Charles Mathon on Thursday.

Without playmaker Cipriani, Sale will start Nick Macleod alongside Will Cliff behind a back-row of Dan Braid, David Seymour and James Gaskell.

Tommy Taylor gets the nod ahead of Marc Jones at hooker while Joe Ford is on the bench as Sale look to make it three wins from three in Europe.

The hosting Top 14 club have had their pitch covered all week and are also blowing warm air over the playing surface to make it playable.

Meanwhile, Oyonnax will be eager to claim their first win of the competition after picking up just a draw and defeat from their opening two games.

Silvere Tian is a threat from full-back, as is Guillaume Bousses at outside centre, while Miroslav Nemecek captains the team from second-row.

The teams:

Oyonnax: 15 Silvere Tian, 14 Jonathan Bousquet, 13 Guillaume Bousses, 12 Hemani Paea, 11 Tikiko Koroivoutu, 10 Benjamin Urdapilleta, 9 Augustin Figuerola, 8 Christophe Andre, 7 Scott Newlands, 6 Mahamadou Diaby, 5 Damien Lagrange, 4 Miroslav Nemecek (capt), 3 Ruaan Du Preez, 2 Neil Clark, 1 Erwan Iapteff.
Replacements: 16 Jody Jenneker, 17 Lukas Rapant, 18 Clement Baiocco, 19 Chad Slade, 20 Nicolas Vuillemin, 21 Roimata Hansell Pune, 22 Jonathan Traini, 23 Damian Browne.

Sale Sharks: 15 Rob Miller, 14 Tom Brady, 13 Mark Jennings, 12 Jonny Leota, 11 Phil MacKenzie, 10 Nick Macleod, 9 Will Cliff, 8 James Gaskell, 7 David Seymour, 6 Dan Braid, 5 Michael Paterson, 4 Andrei Ostrikov, 3 Vadim Cobilas, 2 Tommy Taylor, 1 Ross Harrison.
Replacements: 16 Marc Jones, 17 James Flynn, 18 Tony Buckley, 19 Jonathan Mills, 20 Mark Easter, 21 Joe Ford, 22 Andy Forsyth, 23 Mike Haley.

Date: Thursday, December 5
Kick-off: 20:45 local (19:45 GMT)
Venue: Stade Charles Mathon
Referee: Giuseppe Vivarini (Italy)

  • Sale Sharks Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , November 30
Newcastle vs Sale15:15
Saturday , December 20
Sale vs Exeter14:00
Saturday , December 27
Sale vs Leicester14:00
Sunday , January 4
Wasps vs Sale14:00
Saturday , January 10
Sale vs Northampton14:00
Sunday , February 15
London Welsh vs Sale14:30
Saturday , February 21
Sale vs Saracens14:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , December 6
Sale vs Saracens13:00
Saturday , December 13
Saracens vs Sale17:15
Saturday , January 17
Sale vs Clermont AuvergneTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
  • Sale Sharks Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Friday , November 21
Harlequins 12 - 16 Sale SharksHarlequins vs Sale Sharks Report
Saturday , November 15
Sale Sharks 36 - 8 London IrishSale Sharks vs London Irish Report
More Aviva Premiership results
LV= Cup
Sunday , November 9
Leicester 29 - 13 Sale SharksLeicester vs Sale Sharks Report
Saturday , November 1
Sale Sharks 32 - 29 Wasps
More LV= Cup results
European Rugby Champions Cup
Sunday , October 26
Clermont Auvergne 35 - 3 Sale Sharks
Saturday , October 18
Sale Sharks 26 - 27 Munster
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , October 11
Northampton 43 - 10 Sale Sharks
Sunday , October 5
Sale 25 - 14 Wasps
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
5Leicester Tigers821
6Wasps820
7Sale Sharks820
8Harlequins819
9Gloucester816