Planet Rugby

Sale

Sale

Preview: Sale v Montpellier

10th January 2013 09:23

Share:

Josh Beaumont for Sale Sharks

At eight: Josh Beaumont

Sale have named Josh Beaumont, the son of former England player Bill, at number eight for their Heineken Cup Pool clash with Montpellier on Friday.

Openside Dave Seymour returns as captain.

Whilst Sale's chances of qualification have gone after back to back defeats to Toulon, they are eager to finish with a flourish and hopefully earn ranking points for future years in the competition.

Mark Cueto, who levelled the Premiership try-scoring record against Worcester moves to centre and plays alongside Mark Jennings who scored a try in the opening round against Cardiff Blues.

Meanwhile, Montpellier have recalled respective France and Argentina international forwards Fulgence Ouedraogo and Agustin Creevy to their side while Francois Trinh-Duc leads the backline.

The teams:

Sale Sharks: 15 Cameron Shepherd, 14 Tom Brady, 13 Mark Cueto, 12 Mark Jennings, 11 Charlie Amesbury, 10 Danny Cipriani, 9 Will Cliff, 8 Josh Beaumont, 7 David Seymour, 6 James Doyle, 5 Tom Holmes, 4 Richie Gray, 3 Vadim Cobilas, 2 Marc Jones, 1 Aston Croall.
Replacements: 16 Tom Cruse, 17 Ross Harrison, 18 Tony Buckley, 19 Kearnan Myall, 20 Tommy Taylor, 21 Nathan Fowles, 22 Rob Miller, 23 Jordan Davies.

Montpellier: 15 Pierre Bérard, 14 Timoci Nagusa, 13 Thomas Combezou, 12 Santiago Fernandez, 11 Yohann Artru, 10 Francois Trinh-Duc, 9 Benoit Paillaugue, 8 Johnnie Beattie, 7 Mamuka Gorgodze, 6 Fulgence Ouedraogo, 5 Aliki Fakate, 4 Mickael Demarco, 3 Maximiliano Bustos, 2 Agustin Creevy, 1 Mikheil Nariashvili.
Replacements: 16 Rassie van Vuuren, 17 Yvan Watremez, 18 Barry Fa'amausili, 19 Rémy Martin, 20 Alexandre Bias, 21 Eric Escande, 22 Paul Bosch, 23 Lucas Amorosino.

Date: Friday, January 11
Kick-off: 20:00
Venue: Salford City Stadium
Referee: Leighton Hodges (Wales)
Assistant referees: Rhys Thomas (Wales), Wayne Davies (Wales)
Timekeeper: Mike Hamlin (England)
Citing commissioner: Gwyn Bowden (Wales)
Assessor: Andy Clift (Scotland)

  • Sale Sharks Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Friday , November 21
Harlequins vs Sale SharksHarlequins vs Sale Sharks Preview
Sunday , November 30
Newcastle vs Sale15:15
Saturday , December 20
Sale vs Exeter14:00
Saturday , December 27
Sale vs Leicester14:00
Sunday , January 4
Wasps vs Sale14:00
Saturday , January 10
Sale vs Northampton14:00
Sunday , February 15
London Welsh vs Sale14:30
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , December 6
Sale vs Saracens13:00
Saturday , December 13
Saracens vs Sale17:15
Saturday , January 17
Sale vs Clermont AuvergneTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
  • Sale Sharks Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , November 15
Sale Sharks 36 - 8 London IrishSale Sharks vs London Irish Report
More Aviva Premiership results
LV= Cup
Sunday , November 9
Leicester 29 - 13 Sale SharksLeicester vs Sale Sharks Report
Saturday , November 1
Sale Sharks 32 - 29 Wasps
More LV= Cup results
European Rugby Champions Cup
Sunday , October 26
Clermont Auvergne 35 - 3 Sale Sharks
Saturday , October 18
Sale Sharks 26 - 27 Munster
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , October 11
Northampton 43 - 10 Sale Sharks
Sunday , October 5
Sale 25 - 14 Wasps
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
5Wasps720
6Harlequins718
7Sale Sharks716
8Gloucester716
9Leicester Tigers716