Planet Rugby

Sale

Sale

LV= Cup wrap: Irish beat Sale

11th November 2012 17:48

Share:

Shane Geraghty Conor Gaston London irish

Try-scorer: Shane Geraghty

London Irish got their 2012/13 LV= Cup campaign off to a winning start as they overcame Premiership rivals Sale 34-28 at the Madejski Stadium on Sunday.

Matt Garvey (2), George Skivington and Shane Geraghty scored tries, while Ian Humphreys slotted two penalties and converted four tries.

In reply, Sale's try scorers were Dwayne Peel and Danny Cipriani while Charlie Amesbury crossed late on for a consolation effort in Reading.

Sunday's other game saw Exeter teach London Welsh a lesson as Will Carrick-Smith, Mark Foster, Jack Nowell and Nic Sestaret (2) scored tries to Welsh pivot Gordon Ross' five penalties.

Results:
London Irish 32-28 Sale Sharks
London Welsh 15-42 Exeter Chiefs

  • Sale Sharks Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , November 15
Sale vs London Irish14:00
Friday , November 21
Harlequins vs Sale19:45
Sunday , November 30
Newcastle vs Sale15:15
Saturday , December 20
Sale vs Exeter14:00
Saturday , December 27
Sale vs Leicester14:00
Sunday , January 4
Wasps vs Sale14:00
Saturday , January 10
Sale vs Northampton14:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
European Rugby Champions Cup
Sunday , October 26
Clermont Auvergne vs Sale13:00
Saturday , December 6
Sale vs Saracens13:00
Saturday , December 13
Saracens vs Sale17:15
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
  • Sale Sharks Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 18
Sale Sharks 26 - 27 MunsterSale Sharks vs Munster Report
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , October 11
Northampton 43 - 10 Sale SharksNorthampton vs Sale Sharks Report
Sunday , October 5
Sale 25 - 14 WaspsSale vs Wasps Report
Saturday , September 27
Saracens 40 - 19 Sale Sharks
Saturday , September 20
Sale 46 - 8 London Welsh
Saturday , September 13
Gloucester 34 - 27 Sale Sharks
Saturday , September 6
Sale Sharks 20 - 29 Bath
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
8Leicester Tigers614
9London Irish612
10Sale Sharks611
11Newcastle Falcons69
12London Welsh61