Planet Rugby

Sale

Sale

Challenge Cup wrap: Sale smash Agen

18th December 2011 18:41

Share:

Tom Brady Sale v Agen

Two tries for Sale: Tom Brady

Sale kept their Amlin Challenge Cup quarter-final hopes alive on Sunday with a five-try win over Agen at Edgeley Park.

In Sunday's other game, Exeter snatched victory from the Dragons in the dying minutes at Rodney Parade.

Sale Sharks 41-21 Agen
Edgeley Park

Sharks' bonus-point victory puts them in second place in Pool Five behind leaders Brive, with their home clash with the French set to be the group decider.

The Sharks made most of a yellow card shown to Agen lock Damien Lagrange with quick tries from Tom Brady and skipper David Seymour to race to a 20-6 lead at half time.

After the restart Brady crossed for his second try before scrum-half Cillian Willis scored the home side's fourth try for the vital bonus point.

Former Wales centre Jamie Robinson and Tongan number eight Opeti Fonua then scored tries for the visitors to close the gap, but a late try from Scott Mathie sealed a comfortable Sale win.

The scorers:

For Sale:
Tries: Brady 2, Seymour, Willis, Mathie
Cons: MacLeod 4, Miller
Pens: MacLeod 2

For Agen:
Tries: Robinson, Fonua
Cons: Lamoulie
Pens: Courrent 3


Dragons 19-23 Exeter
Rodney Parade

A 76th minute try from number eight James Phillips saw Exeter snatch a dramatic come-from-behind win in Wales to move level with Perpignan at the Top of Pool Foor.

Toby Falatau's first-half try had helped Dragons to a 16-6 lead at the break but the visitors came back strongly in the second period, scoing unanswered tries through hooker Simon Alcott and Phillips.

The scorers:

For Dragon:
Try: Falatau
Con: Tovey
Pens: Tovey 4

For Exeter:
Tries: Alcott, Phillips
Cons: Steenson 2
Pens: Mieres 2, Steenson

  • Sale Sharks Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , November 30
Newcastle Falcons vs Sale Sharks15:15
Saturday , December 20
Sale vs Exeter14:00
Saturday , December 27
Sale vs Leicester14:00
Sunday , January 4
Wasps vs Sale14:00
Saturday , January 10
Sale vs Northampton14:00
Sunday , February 15
London Welsh vs Sale14:30
Saturday , February 21
Sale vs Saracens14:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , December 6
Sale vs Saracens13:00
Saturday , December 13
Saracens vs Sale17:15
Saturday , January 17
Sale vs Clermont AuvergneTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
  • Sale Sharks Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Friday , November 21
Harlequins 12 - 16 Sale SharksHarlequins vs Sale Sharks Report
Saturday , November 15
Sale Sharks 36 - 8 London IrishSale Sharks vs London Irish Report
More Aviva Premiership results
LV= Cup
Sunday , November 9
Leicester 29 - 13 Sale SharksLeicester vs Sale Sharks Report
Saturday , November 1
Sale Sharks 32 - 29 Wasps
More LV= Cup results
European Rugby Champions Cup
Sunday , October 26
Clermont Auvergne 35 - 3 Sale Sharks
Saturday , October 18
Sale Sharks 26 - 27 Munster
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , October 11
Northampton 43 - 10 Sale Sharks
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
5Leicester Tigers821
6Wasps820
7Sale Sharks820
8Harlequins819
9Gloucester816