Planet Rugby

Northampton

Northampton

Pisi not resting on his laurels

19th August 2014 13:17

Share:

ken pisi northampton saints v bath

Ken Pisi: Happy with Saints' settled squad

Northampton wing Ken Pisi said despite last season's success, the competition for places is keeping established players on their toes at the club.

The Saints won both the Aviva Premiership and the Amlin Challenge Cup last season and director of rugby Jim Mallinder has managed to keep that successful squad together.

However, the emergence of youngsters like full-back Tom Collins and wing Howard Packman means there is plenty of competition for places at the Saints.

"It's going to be a big challenge for us all this season," he told the Northampton Chronicle and Echo.

"Our position is never secure with the young guys coming up so it's a good test for us."

But Pisi welcomes the challenge and said he has never been part of the kind of settled squad which Northampton now have.

"It's pretty much the same bunch of guys from last season and we're all used to each other," he added.

"It's just about getting better now and moving forward.

"It's the first time I've been part of something like this, having the same bunch of guys together.

"It's a good vibe after last season and it's continuing to move upwards."

  • Northampton Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Friday , November 14
Northampton vs Exeter19:45
Sunday , November 23
Saracens vs Northampton13:00
Sunday , November 30
London Welsh vs Northampton14:30
Saturday , December 20
Northampton vs Leicester15:00
Saturday , December 27
Harlequins vs Northampton15:00
Saturday , January 3
Northampton vs Newcastle15:00
Saturday , January 10
Sale vs Northampton14:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , December 6
Benetton Treviso vs Northampton13:00
Saturday , December 13
Northampton vs Benetton TrevisoTBC
Saturday , January 17
Ospreys vs NorthamptonTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
  • Northampton Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 25
Northampton 34 - 6 OspreysNorthampton vs Ospreys Report
Saturday , October 18
Racing Metro 92 20 - 11 NorthamptonRacing Metro 92 vs Northampton Report
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , October 11
Northampton 43 - 10 Sale SharksNorthampton vs Sale Sharks Report
Saturday , October 4
London Irish 12 - 19 Northampton
Saturday , September 27
Northampton 31 - 24 Bath
Sunday , September 21
Newcastle 10 - 35 Northampton
Sunday , September 14
Wasps 20 - 16 Northampton
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
1Northampton625
2Saracens622
3Exeter620
4Bath620
5Wasps615