Planet Rugby

Northampton

Northampton

Hartley's shoulder worries Lancaster

19th May 2014 15:58

Share:

dylan hartley northampton saints

Slow progress: Dylan Hartley

Northampton hooker Dylan Hartley's recovery from a shoulder injury is taking long than expected, confirmed England head coach Stuart Lancaster.

England are down to the bare bones in the number two jersey, with Hartley injured, Tom Youngs unable to tour with David Paice also out and Rob Webber on the road to recovery.

Webber was called into the England camp for further assessment before the squad fly out to New Zealand next Tuesday.

Should he not recover in time, Lancaster admitted that one of the untested prospects including Dave Ward and Luke Cowan-Dickie may win an opportunity against the All Blacks.

"Dylan, as you've heard from (Northampton director of rugby) Jim Mallinder, is making slower progress than hoped for with his shoulder," said Lancaster.

"We'll monitor that with Northampton throughout the week and make a decision on him before we fly (next Tuesday). We'll wait and see how it plays out.

"With Tom Youngs, Dylan and David Paice out of the equation, if Dylan isn't going to be fit and Webber is 50/50, there will definitely be an opportunity for a hooker without much experience."

Lancaster was less concerned however over the fitness of full-back Mike Brown, who limped off in Harlequins semi-final defeat to Saracens on Saturday.

"Mike won't train this week, but we're quite optimistic that he will be training next week. We fly on Tuesday," added Lancaster.

"So I don't think there will be any concern over him going into the first Test."

  • Northampton Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Friday , November 14
Northampton vs Exeter19:45
Sunday , November 23
Saracens vs Northampton13:00
Sunday , November 30
London Welsh vs Northampton14:30
Saturday , December 20
Northampton vs Leicester15:00
Saturday , December 27
Harlequins vs Northampton15:00
Saturday , January 3
Northampton vs Newcastle15:00
Saturday , January 10
Sale vs Northampton14:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , December 6
Benetton Treviso vs Northampton13:00
Saturday , December 13
Northampton vs Benetton TrevisoTBC
Saturday , January 17
Ospreys vs NorthamptonTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
  • Northampton Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 25
Northampton 34 - 6 OspreysNorthampton vs Ospreys Report
Saturday , October 18
Racing Metro 92 20 - 11 NorthamptonRacing Metro 92 vs Northampton Report
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , October 11
Northampton 43 - 10 Sale SharksNorthampton vs Sale Sharks Report
Saturday , October 4
London Irish 12 - 19 Northampton
Saturday , September 27
Northampton 31 - 24 Bath
Sunday , September 21
Newcastle 10 - 35 Northampton
Sunday , September 14
Wasps 20 - 16 Northampton
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
1Northampton625
2Saracens622
3Exeter620
4Bath620
5Wasps615