Planet Rugby

Northampton

Northampton

Preview: Northampton v Castres

16th January 2014 08:07

Share:

lee dickson northampton saints

Starts: Lee Dickson

Northampton Saints have promoted Lee Dickson to starting scrum-half for their final Pool clash, against Castres.

Dickson replaces Kahn Fotuali'i at the base while Fa'atoina Autagavaia is also in the starting XV, coming in for Tom Collins in the full-back slot.

The rest of the team remains unchanged by director of rugby Jim Mallinder, with the Saints hoping to sneak into the quarter-final stages.

Meanwhile, Castres have named a strong-looking squad that, albeit without Rémi Talès, features Marcel Garvey, Remi Grosso and Brice Dulin.

Daniel Kirkpatrick wears the number ten jersey in Talès' absence while Rory Kockott will hope to come off the bench after recovering from injury.

Antonie Claassen is also fit for bench duty.

The teams:

Northampton Saints: 15 Fa'atoina Autagavaia, 14 Jamie Elliott, 13 George Pisi, 12 Luther Burrell, 11 George North, 10 Steve Myler, 9 Lee Dickson, 8 Samu Manoa, 7 Tom Wood, 6 Calum Clark, 5 Christian Day, 4 Courtney Lawes, 3 Salesi Ma'afu, 2 Dylan Hartley (c), 1 Alex Waller.
Replacements: 16 Mikey Haywood, 17 Ethan Waller, 18 Gareth Denman, 19 Sam Dickinson, 20 Phil Dowson, 21 Kahn Fotuali'i, 22 Glenn Dickson, 23 Ken Pisi.

Castres: 15 Brice Dulin, 14 Marcel Garvey, 13 Romain Cabannes (c), 12 Remi Lamerat, 11 Remi Grosso, 10 Daniel Kirkpatrick, 9 Julien Tomas, 8 Piula Faasalele, 7 Jannie Bornman, 6 Mathieu Babillot, 5 Richie Gray, 4 Christophe Samson, 3 Anton Peikrishvili, 2 Marc-Antoine Rallier, 1 Yannick Forestier.
Replacements: 16 Saimone Taumoepeau, 17 Antonie Claassen, 18 Mihaita Lazar, 19 Benjamin Desroche, 20 Yannick Caballero, 21 Rory Kockott, 22 Paul Bonnefond, 23 Pierre-Gilles Lakafia.

Date: Friday 17th January
Venue: Franklin's Gardens
Kick-off: 20:00 GMT
Referee: Alain Rolland (Ire)
Assistant referees: David Wilkinson, Michael Black (both Ire)
TMO: Simon McDowell (Ire)

  • Northampton Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , November 23
Saracens vs NorthamptonSaracens vs Northampton Preview
Sunday , November 30
London Welsh vs Northampton14:30
Saturday , December 20
Northampton vs Leicester15:00
Saturday , December 27
Harlequins vs Northampton15:00
Saturday , January 3
Northampton vs Newcastle15:00
Saturday , January 10
Sale vs Northampton14:00
Saturday , February 14
Northampton vs London Irish15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , December 6
Benetton Treviso vs Northampton13:00
Saturday , December 13
Northampton vs Benetton Treviso15:15
Saturday , January 17
Ospreys vs NorthamptonTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
  • Northampton Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Friday , November 14
Northampton 18 - 24 ExeterNorthampton vs Exeter Report
More Aviva Premiership results
LV= Cup
Friday , November 7
Scarlets 7 - 24 Northampton
Saturday , November 1
Northampton 37 - 23 Newcastle
More LV= Cup results
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 25
Northampton 34 - 6 Ospreys
Saturday , October 18
Racing Metro 92 20 - 11 Northampton
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , October 11
Northampton 43 - 10 Sale Sharks
Saturday , October 4
London Irish 12 - 19 Northampton
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
1Northampton726
2Exeter724
3Bath724
4Saracens724
5Wasps720