Planet Rugby

Newcastle

Newcastle

Newcastle bolster second row

12th March 2014 06:25

Share:

Harry Spencer Saracens academy

New Falcon: Harry Spencer

Newcastle have bolstered their second-row options with the signing of former Saracens and Plymouth Albion man Harry Spencer until the end of the season.

The 25-year-old has joined from French club Chalon and is relishing the chance to showcase his talent in the Aviva Premiership.

"I saw it as an opportunity to come over and be part of a proper professional set-up, and some of my old colleagues from Saracens academy said very good things about the club in Adam Powell and Andy Saull," said Spencer.

He added: "It is a chance to try and get back into the professional game, into the top-flight and see where my hard work can take me.

"I have been in France for four years, having gone there from Saracens' academy. It has been a really good learning phase of my career, and I have gained a lot of experience and confidence. I have learnt things that I would not ordinarily have had the chance to learn back home, and hopefully that can complement my game as I look forward in my career."

Newcastle director of rugby Dean Richards said: "I have watched a few games he has played, and his decision-making at certain times has been excellent.

"You cannot always get that right, and it is something that is either in you instinctively or is the result of meticulous work over a period of time.

"Considering his age and the relatively small amount of time he has spent in a real professional environment, it led me to believe it is probably more instinctive than anything.

"That is a great attribute to have, and he doesn't shirk the hard work."

  • Newcastle Falcons Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , November 15
Bath vs Newcastle17:00
Friday , November 21
Newcastle vs Gloucester20:00
Sunday , November 30
Newcastle vs Sale15:15
Saturday , December 20
Harlequins vs Newcastle15:00
Saturday , December 27
Newcastle vs Saracens15:00
Saturday , January 3
Northampton vs Newcastle15:00
Sunday , January 11
Newcastle vs London Welsh15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
LV= Cup
Saturday , November 1
Northampton vs Newcastle16:00
Friday , November 7
Newcastle vs Cardiff Blues20:00
More LV= Cup fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , December 6
Newcastle vs Stade FrancaisTBC
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Newcastle Falcons Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Friday , October 24
Newport Gwent D'gons 26 - 30 Newcastle
Friday , October 17
Newcastle 43 - 19 Bucuresti
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , October 11
London Welsh 3 - 23 NewcastleLondon Welsh vs Newcastle Report
Sunday , October 5
Newcastle 29 - 24 Exeter
Sunday , September 28
Wasps 35 - 18 Newcastle
Sunday , September 21
Newcastle 10 - 35 Northampton
Sunday , September 14
Newcastle 18 - 20 London Irish
Saturday , September 6
Leicester 36 - 17 Newcastle
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
8Leicester Tigers614
9London Irish612
10Sale Sharks611
11Newcastle Falcons69
12London Welsh61