Planet Rugby

Newcastle

Newcastle

Godman targets Falcons momentum

04th March 2014 10:16

Share:

phil godman newcastle falcons

Determined: Phil Godman

Newcastle Falcons fly-half Phil Godman believes his side can build on their strong first-half showing against Leicester Tigers.

This season, the Falcons have often endured slow starts to matches, but against the Premiership champions on Sunday, they turned in a fine display during the opening period.

Indeed, though eventually winding up on the wrong end of a 41-18 defeat, the Kingston Park side - playing in front of their largest home crowd of the campaign so far - led the Tigers for much of that first forty minutes.

"We knew in our previous two games against Northampton and Harlequins we had started badly and we were determined to turn that on its head," Godman told the ChronicleLive.

"The plan was to go out and take the game to them, which is what we did.

"We put good width on the ball and moved their big pack around.

"Unfortunately, they came back into it and their power game came to the fore, but there were things we can build on."

A pair of five-pointers from Fijian juggernaut Niki Goneva, and a try apiece for back-rows Thomas Waldrom and Pablo Matera guaranteed the visitors a bonus point win.

"Leicester have a fantastic power game and our scrum began to creak a little," conceded Godman.

"The amount of energy we expended defending in the first half, and also in attack, allowed Leicester to use their big ball-carriers later on.

"That took them over the gain-line, and then the likes of Goneva and Manu Tuilagi came into the game.

"Goneva's try at the end of the first half was a bit of a turning point because we had a bit of a lead going, and it was a bit of freak x-factor play from him down that right wing.

"That was disappointing, and I don't think the scoreline really reflected the overall balance of the game."

  • Newcastle Falcons Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , November 15
Bath vs Newcastle17:00
Friday , November 21
Newcastle vs Gloucester20:00
Sunday , November 30
Newcastle vs Sale15:15
Saturday , December 20
Harlequins vs Newcastle15:00
Saturday , December 27
Newcastle vs Saracens15:00
Saturday , January 3
Northampton vs Newcastle15:00
Sunday , January 11
Newcastle vs London Welsh15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
LV= Cup
Saturday , November 1
Northampton vs Newcastle16:00
Friday , November 7
Newcastle vs Cardiff Blues20:00
More LV= Cup fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , December 6
Newcastle vs Stade FrancaisTBC
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Newcastle Falcons Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Friday , October 24
Newport Gwent D'gons 26 - 30 Newcastle
Friday , October 17
Newcastle 43 - 19 Bucuresti
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , October 11
London Welsh 3 - 23 NewcastleLondon Welsh vs Newcastle Report
Sunday , October 5
Newcastle 29 - 24 Exeter
Sunday , September 28
Wasps 35 - 18 Newcastle
Sunday , September 21
Newcastle 10 - 35 Northampton
Sunday , September 14
Newcastle 18 - 20 London Irish
Saturday , September 6
Leicester 36 - 17 Newcastle
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
8Leicester Tigers614
9London Irish612
10Sale Sharks611
11Newcastle Falcons69
12London Welsh61