Planet Rugby

Newcastle

Newcastle

Pirates give hope to Newcastle

07th May 2012 13:59

Share:

Cornish Pirates shirt

First-leg win: Cornish Pirates

Newcastle received a mini-boost on Monday after sole promotion hopefuls Bristol lost their play-off first leg 45-24 against Cornish Pirates in Penzance.

The come-from-behind victory at Mennaye Field leaves Bristol with a mountain to climb when they attempt to overturn a 21-point deficit this Sunday.

Newcastle were widely expected to be relegated from the Aviva Premiership after finishing bottom of the pile, one point behind closest rivals Wasps.

But with Bristol being the lone side able to gain promotion into the top flight for 2012/13 due to license applications and limited facilities at other clubs' stadiums in England's second tier, there was hope for the Falcons that the Championship outfits would do them a favour in the knockouts.

The two-legged RFU Championship Final is scheduled to take place on May 23 and 30.

  • Newcastle Falcons Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , October 5
Newcastle vs Exeter15:00
Saturday , October 11
London Welsh vs Newcastle14:30
Saturday , November 15
Bath vs Newcastle17:00
Friday , November 21
Newcastle vs Gloucester20:00
Sunday , November 30
Newcastle vs Sale15:15
Saturday , December 20
Harlequins vs Newcastle15:00
Saturday , December 27
Newcastle vs Saracens15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
LV= Cup
Saturday , November 1
Northampton vs Newcastle15:00
Saturday , November 8
Newcastle vs Cardiff Blues15:00
More LV= Cup fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Friday , October 17
Newcastle vs Bucuresti20:00
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Newcastle Falcons Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , September 28
Wasps 35 - 18 NewcastleWasps vs Newcastle Report
Sunday , September 21
Newcastle 10 - 35 NorthamptonNewcastle vs Northampton Report
Sunday , September 14
Newcastle 18 - 20 London Irish
Saturday , September 6
Leicester 36 - 17 Newcastle
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
8Leicester Tigers410
9Harlequins48
10Sale Sharks47
11Newcastle Falcons41
12London Welsh41