Planet Rugby

Newcastle

Newcastle

Pirates give hope to Newcastle

07th May 2012 13:59

Share:

Cornish Pirates shirt

First-leg win: Cornish Pirates

Newcastle received a mini-boost on Monday after sole promotion hopefuls Bristol lost their play-off first leg 45-24 against Cornish Pirates in Penzance.

The come-from-behind victory at Mennaye Field leaves Bristol with a mountain to climb when they attempt to overturn a 21-point deficit this Sunday.

Newcastle were widely expected to be relegated from the Aviva Premiership after finishing bottom of the pile, one point behind closest rivals Wasps.

But with Bristol being the lone side able to gain promotion into the top flight for 2012/13 due to license applications and limited facilities at other clubs' stadiums in England's second tier, there was hope for the Falcons that the Championship outfits would do them a favour in the knockouts.

The two-legged RFU Championship Final is scheduled to take place on May 23 and 30.

  • Newcastle Falcons Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , November 30
Newcastle vs Sale15:15
Saturday , December 20
Harlequins vs Newcastle15:00
Saturday , December 27
Newcastle vs Saracens15:00
Saturday , January 3
Northampton vs Newcastle15:00
Sunday , January 11
Newcastle vs London Welsh15:00
Saturday , February 14
Exeter vs Newcastle15:00
Friday , February 20
Newcastle vs Wasps20:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
LV= Cup
Saturday , January 31
Newcastle vs Sale15:00
Saturday , February 7
London Irish vs Newcastle15:00
More LV= Cup fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Friday , December 5
Newcastle vs Stade Francais20:00
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Newcastle Falcons Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Friday , November 21
Newcastle Falcons 20 - 10 GloucesterNewcastle Falcons vs Gloucester Report
Saturday , November 15
Bath 23 - 14 Newcastle FalconsBath vs Newcastle Falcons Report
More Aviva Premiership results
LV= Cup
Friday , November 7
Newcastle 21 - 22 Cardiff Blues
Saturday , November 1
Northampton 37 - 23 Newcastle
More LV= Cup results
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Friday , October 24
Newport Gwent D'gons 26 - 30 Newcastle
Friday , October 17
Newcastle 43 - 19 Bucuresti
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , October 11
London Welsh 3 - 23 Newcastle
Sunday , October 5
Newcastle 29 - 24 Exeter
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
8Harlequins819
9Gloucester816
10Newcastle Falcons813
11London Irish812
12London Welsh81