Planet Rugby

Newcastle

Newcastle

Challenge Cup: Toulon & Exeter qualify

21st January 2012 18:42

Share:

James Phillips Exeter Chiefs scores v Perpignan

James Phillips scores for Exeter

Exeter booked their place in the Amlin Challenge Cup last-eight on Saturday with a convincing win over Perpignan.

Toulon joined them in the last eight after putting 50 past Petrarca while Newcastle lost in Lyon.

In the late game, Stade Franšais made sure of their top spot finish in Pool 1 by defeating Worcester 33-10, with their tries scored by Paul Warwick, Sergio Parisse, Morgan Turinui, Paul Sackey and veteran replacement Byron Kelleher.

Worcester conceded three first-half tries at Stade Charlety, and despite a superb individual score from Andy Goode early in the second-half, the hosts had the bonus secured before the hour.

Results:

Exeter Chiefs 31-14 Perpignan
Dragons 45-16 I Cavalieri Prato
Lyon 21-13 Newcastle Falcons
Petrarca 6-50 Toulon
Bucharest Wolves 26-13 Banca Monte Crociati
Stade Franšais 33-10 Worcester


Exeter Chiefs 31 - 14 Perpignan

Exeter claimed an historic win to qualify for their first appearance in a European last-eight.

The Chiefs made the worst possible start to the clash as Perpignan clinched early tries from Charles Geli and Joffrey Michel to surge into a 14-0 lead within 10 minutes of kick-off

But Exteter turned the game around thanks to the boot of Ignacio Mieres and a Hayden Thomas try. Brett Sturgess and James Phillips then grabbed second-half touchdowns to seal the win and qualification to the knockout stages.

Rob Baxter's men will have to wait until Wasps' clash with Bordeaux-Begles on Sunday to learn if they have done enough for a home quarter-final.


  • Newcastle Falcons Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , November 15
Bath vs Newcastle17:00
Friday , November 21
Newcastle vs Gloucester20:00
Sunday , November 30
Newcastle vs Sale15:15
Saturday , December 20
Harlequins vs Newcastle15:00
Saturday , December 27
Newcastle vs Saracens15:00
Saturday , January 3
Northampton vs Newcastle15:00
Sunday , January 11
Newcastle vs London Welsh15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
LV= Cup
Saturday , November 1
Northampton vs Newcastle16:00
Friday , November 7
Newcastle vs Cardiff Blues20:00
More LV= Cup fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , December 6
Newcastle vs Stade FrancaisTBC
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Newcastle Falcons Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Friday , October 24
Newport Gwent D'gons 26 - 30 Newcastle
Friday , October 17
Newcastle 43 - 19 Bucuresti
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , October 11
London Welsh 3 - 23 NewcastleLondon Welsh vs Newcastle Report
Sunday , October 5
Newcastle 29 - 24 Exeter
Sunday , September 28
Wasps 35 - 18 Newcastle
Sunday , September 21
Newcastle 10 - 35 Northampton
Sunday , September 14
Newcastle 18 - 20 London Irish
Saturday , September 6
Leicester 36 - 17 Newcastle
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
8Leicester Tigers614
9London Irish612
10Sale Sharks611
11Newcastle Falcons69
12London Welsh61