Planet Rugby

Wasps

Wasps

Hayter leaves Wasps for England 7s

03rd July 2014 14:39

Share:

Charlie Hayter of London Wasps scores a try v Newcastle Falcons

Leaving: Charlie Hayter

Wasps have announced that Charlie Hayter will leave the club this month to take up an England Sevens contract ahead of the Commonwealth Games.

Hayter joined midway through 2012/13 from Championship side Moseley, with Wasps CEO Nick Eastwood wishing him the very best.

"It's a fantastic time to be part of the England Sevens set-up with the Commonwealth Games and Olympic Games on the horizon. We wish Charlie the best with this next opportunity and his future endeavours," he told the club website.

25-year-old centre Hayter has been training with the squad since the start of June and made his England Sevens debut in the first round of the FIRA-AER European Grand Prix Series in Lyon.

"Charlie has always been an excellent athlete, fast and physical, and I was delighted to see him make the step up to the Aviva Premiership with Wasps," said England Sevens head coach Simon Amor.

"He is a great addition to the England Sevens programme and I am confident that sevens will also help develop his game should he return to the Premiership at a later date.

"The FIRA tournaments and our intense training schedule ahead of the Commonwealth Games are really helping to embed him within the set up. He has been thrown in at the deep end but has all the raw materials to be a great player for us. It is exciting that we are already seeing a sharp upward curve in his performance."

  • Wasps Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , November 16
Wasps vs London Welsh15:15
Saturday , November 22
Exeter vs Wasps15:00
Saturday , November 29
Leicester vs Wasps15:00
Sunday , December 21
Wasps vs London Irish14:00
Saturday , December 27
Gloucester vs Wasps15:00
Sunday , January 4
Wasps vs Sale14:00
Saturday , January 10
Bath vs Wasps15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
European Rugby Champions Cup
Sunday , October 26
Wasps vs Harlequins17:15
Sunday , December 7
Castres vs Wasps13:00
Sunday , December 14
Wasps vs Castres13:00
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
  • Wasps Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Sunday , October 19
Leinster 25 - 20 WaspsLeinster vs Wasps Report
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , October 12
Wasps 29 - 22 BathWasps vs Bath Report
Sunday , October 5
Sale 25 - 14 WaspsSale vs Wasps Report
Sunday , September 28
Wasps 35 - 18 Newcastle
Saturday , September 20
Harlequins 26 - 23 Wasps
Sunday , September 14
Wasps 20 - 16 Northampton
Saturday , September 6
Saracens 34 - 28 Wasps
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
3Exeter620
4Bath620
5Wasps615
6Gloucester615
7Harlequins614