Planet Rugby

Wasps

Wasps

Wasps axe "London" from name

01st July 2014 09:14

Share:

london wasps premiership champions 2008

Clearer identity: Wasps

Wasps have opted to drop "London" from their name, reverting to their original moniker of over a century for "a clearer identity".

Wasps' CEO Nick Eastwood said: "Wasps is a well-established and well-respected brand which is strong enough to stand alone.

"For almost 150 years we have been known throughout the rugby world as Wasps; even since the re-branding of the Club to London Wasps in 1999 people have still referred to us as Wasps, so we feel we are in keeping with the history of the club.

"During the close-season, we have been looking at ways to build the Wasps brand, with a focus on delivering consistency across all marketing and communications channels. The design team is pleased with the effect this small change has had in creating a bolder, cleaner logo with a strong visual impact.

"After such a successful end to last season, we are all raring to go for the new campaign and hopefully picking up where we left off in Paris. Our pre-season fixtures will be announced tomorrow, helping us to prepare for the exciting challenge in the Double Header at Twickenham on 6 September. We look forward to seeing all Wasps supporters there."

  • Wasps Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , November 16
Wasps vs London Welsh15:15
Saturday , November 22
Exeter vs Wasps15:00
Saturday , November 29
Leicester vs Wasps15:00
Sunday , December 21
Wasps vs London Irish14:00
Saturday , December 27
Gloucester vs Wasps15:00
Sunday , January 4
Wasps vs Sale14:00
Saturday , January 10
Bath vs Wasps15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
European Rugby Champions Cup
Sunday , December 7
Castres vs Wasps13:00
Sunday , December 14
Wasps vs Castres13:00
Saturday , January 17
Harlequins vs WaspsTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
  • Wasps Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Sunday , October 26
Wasps 16 - 23 HarlequinsWasps vs Harlequins Report
Sunday , October 19
Leinster 25 - 20 WaspsLeinster vs Wasps Report
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , October 12
Wasps 29 - 22 BathWasps vs Bath Report
Sunday , October 5
Sale 25 - 14 Wasps
Sunday , September 28
Wasps 35 - 18 Newcastle
Saturday , September 20
Harlequins 26 - 23 Wasps
Sunday , September 14
Wasps 20 - 16 Northampton
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
3Exeter620
4Bath620
5Wasps615
6Gloucester615
7Harlequins614