Planet Rugby

Wasps

Wasps

Wasps axe "London" from name

01st July 2014 09:14

Share:

london wasps premiership champions 2008

Clearer identity: Wasps

Wasps have opted to drop "London" from their name, reverting to their original moniker of over a century for "a clearer identity".

Wasps' CEO Nick Eastwood said: "Wasps is a well-established and well-respected brand which is strong enough to stand alone.

"For almost 150 years we have been known throughout the rugby world as Wasps; even since the re-branding of the Club to London Wasps in 1999 people have still referred to us as Wasps, so we feel we are in keeping with the history of the club.

"During the close-season, we have been looking at ways to build the Wasps brand, with a focus on delivering consistency across all marketing and communications channels. The design team is pleased with the effect this small change has had in creating a bolder, cleaner logo with a strong visual impact.

"After such a successful end to last season, we are all raring to go for the new campaign and hopefully picking up where we left off in Paris. Our pre-season fixtures will be announced tomorrow, helping us to prepare for the exciting challenge in the Double Header at Twickenham on 6 September. We look forward to seeing all Wasps supporters there."

  • Wasps Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , September 20
Harlequins vs Wasps15:00
Sunday , September 28
Wasps vs Newcastle14:00
Sunday , October 5
Sale vs Wasps14:00
Sunday , October 12
Wasps vs Bath14:00
Sunday , November 16
Wasps vs London Welsh14:00
Saturday , November 22
Exeter vs Wasps15:00
Saturday , November 29
Leicester vs Wasps15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
European Rugby Champions Cup
Sunday , October 19
Leinster vs Wasps17:15
Sunday , October 26
Wasps vs Harlequins17:15
Saturday , December 6
Castres vs WaspsTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
  • Wasps Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , September 14
Wasps 20 - 16 NorthamptonWasps vs Northampton Report
Saturday , September 6
Saracens 34 - 28 WaspsSaracens vs Wasps Report
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
4Exeter26
5Northampton26
6Wasps25
7London Irish25
8Harlequins24