Planet Rugby

Wasps

Wasps

We were excellent - Young

25th May 2014 12:11

Share:

SKY_MOBILE Dai Young Wasps head coach

Pleased: Dai Young

London Wasps head coach Dai Young hailed his men after they beat Stade Franšais 20-6 in Paris to qualify for the European Rugby Champions Cup.

The result meant the English side won 50-35 on aggregate in the play-off as they played well to beat a French outfit bursting with internationals.

And for Young, who watched Tom Varndell and Guy Thompson score, it was a landmark win as they end the season on a very positive note.

"I thought that we were excellent today. It was probably the first time we have played for the full 80 minutes. We did very little wrong throughout the game and I certainly felt like we wanted it more than them today. The boys did themselves proud and I am really proud of their efforts," he told the Wasps website after the win.

"It will make a huge difference in terms of prestige for the players, supporters and everyone involved with this club.

"It has probably been too long that we've been out of Europe's top competition. Let's not kid ourselves; it is going to be a tough competition for us. We are certainly going to have to step up and match performances like today's on a regular basis.

"We have talked a lot about composure and producing that complete performance, but coming through days like today is probably going to do more for the development of this team than anything else.

"We have let teams off the hook and ruined good performances with small spells of sloppiness throughout this season. Today we showed what we can do against a top team if we play for the full 80 minutes.

"As I said to the players, this has been an average season, but we finished off really strongly.

"We have gone from almost being relegated to eight place last season, to seventh this year and qualifying for Europe. Next season we have to keep moving forward. We haven't won anything and next season will be a massive challenge for us. We have a lot of work to do this summer."

  • Wasps Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , November 16
Wasps vs London Welsh15:15
Saturday , November 22
Exeter vs Wasps15:00
Saturday , November 29
Leicester vs Wasps15:00
Sunday , December 21
Wasps vs London Irish14:00
Saturday , December 27
Gloucester vs Wasps15:00
Sunday , January 4
Wasps vs Sale14:00
Saturday , January 10
Bath vs Wasps15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
European Rugby Champions Cup
Sunday , October 26
Wasps vs Harlequins17:15
Sunday , December 7
Castres vs Wasps13:00
Sunday , December 14
Wasps vs Castres13:00
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
  • Wasps Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Sunday , October 19
Leinster 25 - 20 WaspsLeinster vs Wasps Report
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , October 12
Wasps 29 - 22 BathWasps vs Bath Report
Sunday , October 5
Sale 25 - 14 WaspsSale vs Wasps Report
Sunday , September 28
Wasps 35 - 18 Newcastle
Saturday , September 20
Harlequins 26 - 23 Wasps
Sunday , September 14
Wasps 20 - 16 Northampton
Saturday , September 6
Saracens 34 - 28 Wasps
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
3Exeter620
4Bath620
5Wasps615
6Gloucester615
7Harlequins614