Planet Rugby

Wasps

Wasps

Amlin Challenge Cup wrap: Thursday

17th January 2013 21:55

Share:

Dragons v Wasps Toby Faletau

All wrapped up: Toby Faletau

Wasps consolidated their place atop Pool 3 and a home Amlin Challenge Cup quarter-final thanks to a 20-19 win over the Dragons.

The visitors were already assured of a place in the play-offs, but missed out on a valuable bonus point that would've improved their ranking for the next round.

The Dragons hit the front first courtesy of an early penalty from former Wasps full-back Tom Prydie, before Nick Robinson levelled proceedings in the 21st minute.

Daniel Evans then crossed the whitewash for the home side with Prydie adding the conversion to give his side a handy 10-3 lead.

Robinson cut the deficit to four points with his second penalty of the night and was then on hand to add the extras to a penalty try on the stroke of half-time that gave Wasps the lead for the first time in the match.

However, the Dragons had the final say of the first half courtesy of another Prydie kick.

Wasps then stretched their lead to 20-16 just before the hour when Robinson converted his own try.

Steffan Jones came off the bench to kick the home side to within a point of their opponents with five minutes left to play, but they were unable to find another score to snatch the victory.

Meanwhile, Perpignan became the fourth side to qualify for the Amlin Challenge Cup quarter-finals after recording a comprehensive 40-22 victory over Femi-CZ Rovigo at the Stade Aimé Giral.

The French giants had the four-try bonus point in the bag by half-time, meaning the comeback that Rovigo needed to help prolong Worcester's qualification hopes was never on the cards.

Even if the English outfit pick up maximum points against Bizkaia Gernika RT on Sunday, Perpignan will pip them to top spot in Pool 2 as they scored more tries in their double header back in December.

  • Wasps Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , November 16
Wasps vs London Welsh15:15
Saturday , November 22
Exeter vs Wasps15:00
Saturday , November 29
Leicester vs Wasps15:00
Sunday , December 21
Wasps vs London Irish14:00
Saturday , December 27
Gloucester vs Wasps15:00
Sunday , January 4
Wasps vs Sale14:00
Saturday , January 10
Bath vs Wasps15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
European Rugby Champions Cup
Sunday , December 7
Castres vs Wasps13:00
Sunday , December 14
Wasps vs Castres13:00
Saturday , January 17
Harlequins vs WaspsTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
  • Wasps Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Sunday , October 26
Wasps 16 - 23 HarlequinsWasps vs Harlequins Report
Sunday , October 19
Leinster 25 - 20 WaspsLeinster vs Wasps Report
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , October 12
Wasps 29 - 22 BathWasps vs Bath Report
Sunday , October 5
Sale 25 - 14 Wasps
Sunday , September 28
Wasps 35 - 18 Newcastle
Saturday , September 20
Harlequins 26 - 23 Wasps
Sunday , September 14
Wasps 20 - 16 Northampton
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
3Exeter620
4Bath620
5Wasps615
6Gloucester615
7Harlequins614