Planet Rugby

Wasps

Wasps

Challenge Cup wrap: Thursday

13th December 2012 22:45

Share:

Elliott Daly Wasps scoring a try against Bayonne Amlin Challenge Cup

Elliot Daly: Goes in for a Wasps try

Wasps took control of their Amlin Challenge Cup pool with a hard-fought 30-16 victory over a Bayonne side who had threatened to derail their European campaign.

It was a game which Wasps had to win twice. After 36 minutes of the first half, they led 17-0, but the visitors came storming back.

They dominated much of the second half - and only trailed by four points - when Wasps lost Billy Vunipola to the sin bin. But the home side dug deep and clinched the game with a late try from man-of-the-match Andrea Masi.

The result means Wasps now lead the pool by five points, and a bonus point win at home to Mogliano would guarantee them a quarter-final place.

Meanwhile, Stade Francais beat I Cavalieri Prato 29-6... edging them ever closer to quarter-final qualification as the group winners.

  • Wasps Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , September 20
Harlequins vs Wasps15:00
Sunday , September 28
Wasps vs Newcastle14:00
Sunday , October 5
Sale vs Wasps14:00
Sunday , October 12
Wasps vs Bath14:00
Sunday , November 16
Wasps vs London Welsh14:00
Saturday , November 22
Exeter vs Wasps15:00
Saturday , November 29
Leicester vs Wasps15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
European Rugby Champions Cup
Sunday , October 19
Leinster vs Wasps17:15
Sunday , October 26
Wasps vs Harlequins17:15
Saturday , December 6
Castres vs WaspsTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
  • Wasps Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , September 14
Wasps 20 - 16 NorthamptonWasps vs Northampton Report
Saturday , September 6
Saracens 34 - 28 WaspsSaracens vs Wasps Report
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
4Exeter26
5Northampton26
6Wasps25
7London Irish25
8Harlequins24