Planet Rugby

Wasps

Wasps

Nine-try Wasps go top

21st October 2012 17:52

Share:

Christian Wade

Two tries: Christian Wade

London Wasps climbed to the top of Pool Three in the Amlin Challenge Cup thanks to a 59-12 victory over Mogliano in Italy on Sunday.

The 2003 tournament winners outscored their hosts nine tries to two at Stadio Maurizio Quaggia to move one point clear of Bayonne at the top of the pool at set up a showdown with the French club in December.

Wasps travel to France for the first of back-to-back clashed on December 8 and then host Bayonne a week later.

Wasps led 35-5 at the interval and speed merchant Christian Wade score two tries as English club made it two wins from as many starts.

The scorers:

For Mogliano:
Tries: T. Thomas, Poff, Southwell, Wade 2, Masi, Johnson, Payne, Launchbury
Cons: Bell 7

For London Wasps:
Tries: Maso, Galon
Con: Galon

Mogliano: 15 Vittorio Candiago, 14 Alessandro Onori, 13 Enrico Ceccato, 12 Cristian Cerioni, 11 Ezio Galon, 10 Edoardo Padovani, 9 Alberto Lucchese, 8 Mathew Gilbert, 7 Meyer Swanepoel, 6 Edoardo Candiago, 5 Enrico Pavanello, 4 Federico Maso, 3 Augusto Allori, 2 Ivan Gianesini, 1 Andrea Ceccato.
Replacements: 16 Agustin Costa Repetto, 17 Davide Meggetto, 18 Laert Naka, 19 Nicola Corbanese, 20 Antonio Giabardo, 21 Filippo Guarducci, 22 Giovanni Benvenuti, 23 Marco Gazzola.

Wasps: 15 Hugo Southwell, 14 Jack Wallace, 13 Elliott Daly, 12 Andrea Masi, 11 Christian Wade, 10 Tommy Bell, 9 Charlie Davies, 8 Ashley Johnson, 7 Jonathan Poff, 6 James Haskell, 5 James Cannon, 4 Tom Palmer, 3 Fabio Staibano, 2 T Rhys Thomas, 1 Tim Payne.
Replacements: 16 Tom Lindsay, 17 Phil Swainston, 18 Zak Taulafo, 19 Joe Launchbury, 20 Sam Jones, 21 Jonah Holmes, 22 Lee Thomas, 23 Chris Bell

  • Wasps Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , November 29
Leicester Tigers vs WaspsLeicester Tigers vs Wasps Preview
Sunday , December 21
Wasps vs London Irish14:00
Saturday , December 27
Gloucester vs Wasps15:00
Sunday , January 4
Wasps vs Sale14:00
Saturday , January 10
Bath vs Wasps15:00
Sunday , February 15
Wasps vs Harlequins14:00
Friday , February 20
Newcastle vs Wasps20:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
European Rugby Champions Cup
Sunday , December 7
Castres vs Wasps13:00
Sunday , December 14
Wasps vs Castres13:00
Saturday , January 17
Harlequins vs WaspsTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
  • Wasps Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , November 22
Exeter 31 - 15 WaspsExeter vs Wasps Report
Sunday , November 16
Wasps 71 - 7 London WelshWasps vs London Welsh Report
More Aviva Premiership results
LV= Cup
Sunday , November 9
Wasps 43 - 22 London Irish
Saturday , November 1
Sale Sharks 32 - 29 Wasps
More LV= Cup results
European Rugby Champions Cup
Sunday , October 26
Wasps 16 - 23 Harlequins
Sunday , October 19
Leinster 25 - 20 Wasps
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , October 12
Wasps 29 - 22 Bath
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
4Saracens825
5Leicester Tigers821
6Wasps820
7Sale Sharks820
8Harlequins919