Planet Rugby

Wasps

Wasps

Wasps into Challenge Cup playoffs

22nd January 2012 17:58

Share:

SKY_MOBILE 137537506 Joe Simpson Wasps

On the break: Joe Simpson

Wasps secured a Challenge Cup home quarter-final on Sunday with a comfortable bonus-point victory over Bordeaux-Begles in Pool 3 at Adams Park.

Results:

Wasps 36 - 13 Bordeaux-Begles
Bayonne 92 - 6 Rovigo

Wasps 36 - 13 Bordeaux-Begles

Wasps only needed a victory to beat Bayonne in the race for top spot in Pool 3 but a four-try bonus point was enough to secure a home quarter-final.

Wasps will now face two-time Heineken Cup finalists Biarritz, who join the draw after failing to make the last eight in Europe's top-tier competition.

Tries from Elliott Daly, Matt Everard, Tom Lindsay and a penalty try proved to be enough for the 2003 Challenge Cup Champions.

UBB winger Vunga Lilo stunned the hosts with an early intercept try to take an early lead, but Wasps steadied the ship and led 13-7at half-time.

  • Wasps Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , September 20
Harlequins vs Wasps15:00
Sunday , September 28
Wasps vs Newcastle14:00
Sunday , October 5
Sale vs Wasps14:00
Sunday , October 12
Wasps vs Bath14:00
Sunday , November 16
Wasps vs London Welsh14:00
Saturday , November 22
Exeter vs Wasps15:00
Saturday , November 29
Leicester vs Wasps15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
European Rugby Champions Cup
Sunday , October 19
Leinster vs Wasps17:15
Sunday , October 26
Wasps vs Harlequins17:15
Saturday , December 6
Castres vs WaspsTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
  • Wasps Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , September 14
Wasps 20 - 16 NorthamptonWasps vs Northampton Report
Saturday , September 6
Saracens 34 - 28 WaspsSaracens vs Wasps Report
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
4Exeter26
5Northampton26
6Wasps25
7London Irish25
8Harlequins24