Planet Rugby

Wasps

Wasps

Amlin Challenge Cup wrap: Saturday

14th January 2012 18:55

Share:

Wasps v Rovigo Richard Haughton

Late try: Richard Haughton

Wasps returned to the top of their Amlin Challenge Cup Pool after a couple of late tries saw them beat Rovigo 32-11 in Italy on Saturday.

Results:

Bucuresti 13-34 Stade Francais
Cavalieri Prato 10-50 Exeter
Rovigo 11-32 Wasps
Rugby Club La Vila 10-69 Sale
Worcester 55-10 Crociati Parma
Perpignan 27-13 Dragons

Review:

Wasps did make hard work of the win that puts them back above Bayonne, with the game very much in the balance with ten minutes remaining.

But scores from Ryan Davis and Richard Haughton saw the Adams Park side get all five points ahead of facing Bordeaux next Sunday. Bayonne will host Rovigo on the same day.

Meanwhile, Exeter demolished Cavalieri Prato 50-10, running in seven tries in an easy win.

Seven tries were scored by the English visitors, with Kevin Barrett, Aly Muldowney, Pat Phibbs and Ignacio Mieres adding to two penalty tries.

In Spain, Sale recorded a comfortable 69-10 success over Rugby Club La Vila as two tries from Tom Brady, Rob Miller, Richie Vernon and one apiece from Joaquin Tuculet, Joe Ward, Will Cliff, Scott Mathie and Jordan Davies saw them set up a winner-take-all clash with Brive.

Pool 1 will also have a decider next week after Stade Francais beat Bucaresti 34-13 at the Arcul de Triumf - wing Djibril Camara scoring two tries in their bonus-point win - and Worcester also picking up a maximum victory after hammering Crociati Parma 55-10.

The Warriors' tries came via Errie Claassens (2), Alex Grove, Andy Goode, Tom Arscott, Josh Drauniniu, Ollie Hayes, Ben Gulliver and Miles Benjamin for their biggest win of the season.

In the day's final fixture, Perpignan recorded a 27-13 victory over the Dragons at Stade Aime Giral, their tries coming from hooker Charles Geli and replacement second-row Robins Tchale Watchou. With Exeter having picked up a maximum earlier on Saturday, USAP are now a point behind the Chiefs with one round left. They meet at Sandy Park next weekend.

  • Wasps Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , November 29
Leicester Tigers vs Wasps15:00
Sunday , December 21
Wasps vs London Irish14:00
Saturday , December 27
Gloucester vs Wasps15:00
Sunday , January 4
Wasps vs Sale14:00
Saturday , January 10
Bath vs Wasps15:00
Sunday , February 15
Wasps vs Harlequins14:00
Friday , February 20
Newcastle vs Wasps20:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
European Rugby Champions Cup
Sunday , December 7
Castres vs Wasps13:00
Sunday , December 14
Wasps vs Castres13:00
Saturday , January 17
Harlequins vs WaspsTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
  • Wasps Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , November 22
Exeter 31 - 15 WaspsExeter vs Wasps Report
Sunday , November 16
Wasps 71 - 7 London WelshWasps vs London Welsh Report
More Aviva Premiership results
LV= Cup
Sunday , November 9
Wasps 43 - 22 London Irish
Saturday , November 1
Sale Sharks 32 - 29 Wasps
More LV= Cup results
European Rugby Champions Cup
Sunday , October 26
Wasps 16 - 23 Harlequins
Sunday , October 19
Leinster 25 - 20 Wasps
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , October 12
Wasps 29 - 22 Bath
Sunday , October 5
Sale 25 - 14 Wasps
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
4Saracens825
5Leicester Tigers821
6Wasps820
7Sale Sharks820
8Harlequins819