Planet Rugby

London Irish

London Irish

Scarlets sign up Hala'ufia

18th June 2014 10:27

Share:

SKY_MOBILE Chris Halaufia - London Irish

Scarlets move: Chris Hala'ufia

The Scarlets have announced the signing of powerful Tongan number eight Chris Hala'ufia, who joins them from Premiership side London Irish.

Hala'ufia joins the West Wales region after six seasons with the Exiles, having made 122 appearances scoring 19 tries in his spell there.

The 35-year-old powerhouse forward, who also represented Harlequins in the Premiership, has 20 caps and two tries for Tonga and is the second confirmed number eight signing for Scarlets with Bridgend born Rory Pitman joining from Wasps.

"We're delighted to announce the addition of Chris to the squad for the forthcoming season and beyond. We have consistently stated our intentions to add strength in depth to key areas of the squad. We have always been very clear in our messaging that any new player introduced to the squad has to be right for us and be a good match for our ethos here at the Scarlets," said Scarlets head coach Simon Easterby to the region's website.

"The pack has shown time and time again this season that they can compete with the best but we're all very clear that we need to ensure consistency in our performances. Bringing in a player of Chris' ability will see us add not only strength in depth but invaluable experience.

"Chris has a reputation as one of the best number 8s in the game and he brings with him a wealth of experience and all the attributes of a ruthless 8. He's a strong ball carrier and runner but also has the ability to break tackles.

"A player of his experience will help us continue our development as a pack and will be a great support for the younger members of the squad including young number 8 Rory Pitman who joins us from Wasps."

  • London Irish Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , November 30
London Irish vs Gloucester13:00
Sunday , December 21
Wasps vs London Irish14:00
Friday , December 26
London Irish vs London Welsh15:00
Saturday , January 3
Saracens vs London Irish15:00
Sunday , January 11
London Irish vs Exeter15:00
Saturday , February 14
Northampton vs London Irish15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
LV= Cup
Saturday , January 31
Scarlets vs London Irish15:00
Saturday , February 7
London Irish vs Newcastle15:00
More LV= Cup fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , December 6
Cardiff Blues vs London Irish15:15
Saturday , December 13
London Irish vs Cardiff Blues15:00
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • London Irish Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , November 22
London Irish 23 - 33 BathLondon Irish vs Bath Report
Saturday , November 15
Sale Sharks 36 - 8 London IrishSale Sharks vs London Irish Report
More Aviva Premiership results
LV= Cup
Sunday , November 9
Wasps 43 - 22 London Irish
Saturday , November 1
London Irish 16 - 17 Leicester
More LV= Cup results
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Friday , October 24
Grenoble 15 - 25 London Irish
Sunday , October 19
London Irish 70 - 14 Rovigo
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , October 11
Exeter 44 - 24 London Irish
Saturday , October 4
London Irish 12 - 19 Northampton
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
8Gloucester816
9Leicester Tigers716
10Newcastle Falcons813
11London Irish812
12London Welsh71