Planet Rugby

London Irish

London Irish

Blues face Irish in Challenge Cup

10th June 2014 12:23

Share:

SKY_MOBILE Cardiff Blues

Tough pool: Cardiff Blues

The draw for the inaugural European Rugby Challenge Cup has been made in Switzerland, with Cardiff Blues and London Irish being pooled together.

Grenoble and a FIRA-AER qualifier complete that group while the other tough pool sees Edinburgh, Bordeaux, London Welsh and Lyon colliding.

LV= Cup winners Exeter Chiefs will face stiff opposition from Top 14 outfit Bayonne, but will be early favourites to top Pool 2 with Connacht and La Rochelle unlikely to spring many surprises.

Stade Francais too look strong enough to see off the respective challenges of the Dragons, Newcastle Falcons and another FIRA-AER qualifier, while Gloucester have been grouped with hard-to-beat Top 14 pair Brive and Oyonnax, as well as the ever-improving Zebre.

European Rugby Challenge Cup

Pool 1: Cardiff Blues, London Irish, Grenoble, FIRA-AER
Pool 2: Exeter Chiefs, Bayonne, Connacht, La Rochelle
Pool 3: Stade Francais, Dragons, Newcastle Falcons, FIRA-AER
Pool 4: Edinburgh, Bordeaux Begles, London Welsh, Lyon
Pool 5: Gloucester, Brive, Zebre, Oyonnax

  • London Irish Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , November 30
London Irish vs Gloucester13:00
Sunday , December 21
Wasps vs London Irish14:00
Friday , December 26
London Irish vs London Welsh15:00
Saturday , January 3
Saracens vs London Irish15:00
Sunday , January 11
London Irish vs Exeter15:00
Saturday , February 14
Northampton vs London Irish15:00
Saturday , February 21
London Irish vs Leicester15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
LV= Cup
Saturday , January 31
Scarlets vs London Irish15:00
Saturday , February 7
London Irish vs Newcastle15:00
More LV= Cup fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , December 6
Cardiff Blues vs London Irish15:15
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • London Irish Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , November 22
London Irish 23 - 33 BathLondon Irish vs Bath Report
Saturday , November 15
Sale Sharks 36 - 8 London IrishSale Sharks vs London Irish Report
More Aviva Premiership results
LV= Cup
Sunday , November 9
Wasps 43 - 22 London Irish
Saturday , November 1
London Irish 16 - 17 Leicester
More LV= Cup results
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Friday , October 24
Grenoble 15 - 25 London Irish
Sunday , October 19
London Irish 70 - 14 Rovigo
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , October 11
Exeter 44 - 24 London Irish
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
8Harlequins819
9Gloucester816
10Newcastle Falcons813
11London Irish812
12London Welsh81