Planet Rugby

London Irish

London Irish

Gough to join Dragons

01st April 2014 10:53

Share:

SKY_MOBILE Ian Gough London Irish

Dragons move: Ian Gough

The Dragons have announced that 37-year-old second-row Ian Gough will join the region from London Irish at the end of the Premiership season.

Gough began his rugby career with Newport RFC and then made the move to regional rugby when it was formed in 2003. In total the lock made 92 appearances for the men of Gwent before leaving for the Ospreys in 2007. He's since gone on to play for London Irish at the Madejski Stadium.

"I am very excited to be returning to Welsh rugby," Gough told the Dragons' official website.

"My rugby career was first formed at Rodney Parade, so it's fantastic to have the opportunity to play back there once again.

"Recent reports on Welsh regional rugby have been very negative but I see the Dragons as being one of the positives to come out of it. The squad have come so far under Lyn Jones' guidance this season - it's great to see that sleeping giant has finally been awoken."

The Rodney Parade outfit have also signed 29-year-old tighthead prop David Young.

"I am really happy to be joining the Dragons. Lyn has a good squad and I am honoured that I have the chance to be part of that next season," said the former Leicester Tigers player.

"Having previously played in the PRO12 I understand how difficult of a league it is. So I am looking forward to stepping up into the PRO12 for the Dragons and teaming up once again with Boris Stankovich.

"I am excited for pre-season, to get down to Wales, meet the boys and get stuck in. The Dragons are improving their game all the time under Lyn's guidance and I am excited to start playing for the region next season."

  • London Irish Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , November 15
Sale vs London Irish14:00
Saturday , November 22
London Irish vs Bath15:00
Sunday , November 30
London Irish vs Gloucester13:00
Sunday , December 21
Wasps vs London Irish14:00
Friday , December 26
London Irish vs London Welsh15:00
Saturday , January 3
Saracens vs London Irish15:00
Sunday , January 11
London Irish vs Exeter15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
LV= Cup
Saturday , November 1
London Irish vs Leicester15:00
Sunday , November 9
Wasps vs London Irish14:00
More LV= Cup fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Friday , October 24
Grenoble vs London Irish18:30
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • London Irish Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Sunday , October 19
London Irish 70 - 14 RovigoLondon Irish vs Rovigo Report
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , October 11
Exeter 44 - 24 London IrishExeter vs London Irish Report
Saturday , October 4
London Irish 12 - 19 Northampton
Saturday , September 27
Leicester 19 - 22 London Irish
Saturday , September 20
London Irish 32 - 36 Saracens
Sunday , September 14
Newcastle 18 - 20 London Irish
Saturday , September 6
London Irish 15 - 20 Harlequins
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
7Harlequins614
8Leicester Tigers614
9London Irish612
10Sale Sharks611
11Newcastle Falcons69