Planet Rugby

London Irish

London Irish

Challenge Cup wrap: Thursday

10th January 2013 20:21

Share:

Jack Moates Anthony Watson

Win for Exiles: Jack Moates is congratulated by Anthony Watson

Victory over Mont de Marsan on Thursday kept London Irish alive in the Challenge Cup before Bayonne all but ended the Dragons' hopes.

Results:
Mont de Marsan 14-20 London Irish
Bayonne 25-22 Dragons

Mont de Marsan 14-20 London Irish

A narrow victory in France on Thursday kept London Irish's slim hopes of qualifying for the quarter-finals alive.

The result sees Exiles closed the gap on Pool One leaders Gloucester - who play Bordeaux - to three points

Scrum-half Jack Moates crossed once in either half at the Stade Guy Boniface, to secure victory for the English club.

It is still possible for Irish to reach the quarter-finals, but for that to happen, the Gloucester must lose both of their remaining matches, away at Bordeaux on Friday and at home to Mont de Marsan next week.

The Scorers:

For Mont de Marsan:
Tries: Lucu 2
Cons: Duvallet, Claverie

For London Irish:
Tries: Moates 2
Cons: Shingler 2
Pens: Shingler 2


Bayonne 25-22 Dragons

A late Mike Phillips try secured a come-from-behind victory for Bayonne that leaves Dragons with little hope of emerging from Pool 3.

The result means the Welsh club are four point behind Wasps, who are expected to wrap up top spot by beating Mogliano on Saturday.

Dragon led 16-6 at half but the hosts scored three tries in the second half to snatch victory and move into second place in the group.

The scorers:

For Bayonne:
Tries: Roumieu, Gerber, Phillips
Cons: Potgieter, Ugalde
Pens: Potgieter 2
Yellow card: Gerber

For Dragons:
Try: L Evans
Con: Prydie
Pens: Prydie 5

  • London Irish Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , November 30
London Irish vs Gloucester13:00
Sunday , December 21
Wasps vs London Irish14:00
Friday , December 26
London Irish vs London Welsh15:00
Saturday , January 3
Saracens vs London Irish15:00
Sunday , January 11
London Irish vs Exeter15:00
Saturday , February 14
Northampton vs London Irish15:00
Saturday , February 21
London Irish vs Leicester15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
LV= Cup
Saturday , January 31
Scarlets vs London Irish15:00
Saturday , February 7
London Irish vs Newcastle15:00
More LV= Cup fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , December 6
Cardiff Blues vs London Irish15:15
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • London Irish Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , November 22
London Irish 23 - 33 BathLondon Irish vs Bath Report
Saturday , November 15
Sale Sharks 36 - 8 London IrishSale Sharks vs London Irish Report
More Aviva Premiership results
LV= Cup
Sunday , November 9
Wasps 43 - 22 London Irish
Saturday , November 1
London Irish 16 - 17 Leicester
More LV= Cup results
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Friday , October 24
Grenoble 15 - 25 London Irish
Sunday , October 19
London Irish 70 - 14 Rovigo
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , October 11
Exeter 44 - 24 London Irish
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
8Harlequins819
9Gloucester816
10Newcastle Falcons813
11London Irish812
12London Welsh81