Planet Rugby

London Irish

London Irish

Challenge Cup wrap: Saturday

20th October 2012 18:47

Share:

Worcester Warriors were the biggest winners in the Amlin Challenge Cup on Saturday after they demolished Pool 2 minnows Rovigo 90-3 at Sixways.

Samoan wing David Lemi helped himself to four tries as the Warriors backed up their 85-5 victory over Bizkaia Gernika in Week 1 with another win.

Fly-half Joe Carlisle beat Shane Drahm's club European record of 21 points in a match against Montauban four years ago as he ended with 30.

Other try scorers were Andy Short (3), Matt Kvesic, Carlisle (2), Sam Betty, Errie Claassens and Craig Gillies in a one-sided romp for the English.

In other scores on Saturday, London Irish claimed a winning bonus-point for the second straight week with a 69-26 home victory over Mont-de-Marsan, London Welsh managed to escape from Italy with a 32-31 victory over Cavalieri Prato and Bucuresti defeated Calvisano 42-27 in Pool 4.

French giants Perpignan smashed Bizkaia Gernika 90-12 with Adrien Plante crossing five times in an emphatic victory that puts them level on points with Worcester at the top of Pool 2.

Stade Francais won their top-of-Pool 5 clash with Grenoble but were made to sweat for the four points in a 28-25 scoreline. Up 19-9 at the break, the Paris side that thumped London Welsh last week were pushed right to the wire by their Top 14 rivals at Stade Océane.

The final game of the day saw the Dragons lose 22-19 at home to Bayonne in a result that's the region's second straight loss in Pool 3 and all but ends their hopes of progression.

Rugby Union betting odds

  • London Irish Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , November 30
London Irish vs Gloucester13:00
Sunday , December 21
Wasps vs London Irish14:00
Friday , December 26
London Irish vs London Welsh15:00
Saturday , January 3
Saracens vs London Irish15:00
Sunday , January 11
London Irish vs Exeter15:00
Saturday , February 14
Northampton vs London Irish15:00
Saturday , February 21
London Irish vs Leicester15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
LV= Cup
Saturday , January 31
Scarlets vs London Irish15:00
Saturday , February 7
London Irish vs Newcastle15:00
More LV= Cup fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , December 6
Cardiff Blues vs London Irish15:15
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • London Irish Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , November 22
London Irish 23 - 33 BathLondon Irish vs Bath Report
Saturday , November 15
Sale Sharks 36 - 8 London IrishSale Sharks vs London Irish Report
More Aviva Premiership results
LV= Cup
Sunday , November 9
Wasps 43 - 22 London Irish
Saturday , November 1
London Irish 16 - 17 Leicester
More LV= Cup results
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Friday , October 24
Grenoble 15 - 25 London Irish
Sunday , October 19
London Irish 70 - 14 Rovigo
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , October 11
Exeter 44 - 24 London Irish
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
8Harlequins819
9Gloucester816
10Newcastle Falcons813
11London Irish812
12London Welsh81