Planet Rugby

Leicester

Leicester

Best Tigers squad ever?

18th July 2014 10:28

Share:

louis deacon leicester

Impressed: Louis Deacon

Leicester Tigers second row Louis Deacon reckons this season's squad is the best the Premiership club has ever had.

There has been a significant turnover of playing staff at Welford Road in the off-season with no less that 17 players, including the likes of Toby Flood, Thomas Waldrom and George Chuter, departing.

But the influx of new faces is equally impressive with Italian trio Leonardo Ghiraldini, Michele Rizzo and Robert Barbieri joined by fellow internationals Freddie Burns (England), Christian Loamanu (Japan), Seremaia Bai (Fiji) and Aniseko Sio (Samoa).

Having spent a decade and a half at Leicester - which included seven Premiership titles and two Heineken Cups - Deacon is well-placed to compare the strength of the current squad with those of previous years, and he is impressed.

"It's something we probably say every year, that it's the best squad we've ever had, but this year I think it is," 33-year-old Deacon told the Leicester Mercury.

"We have got numerous players in each position, we have made some very good signings - internationals, big physical players.

"Hopefully, that will enable us to kick on to the next level, providing we don't have the problems we had last year with injuries. Those extra guys will enable us to push on all fronts.

"We can probably rotate a little bit more."

  • Leicester Tigers Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , November 16
Leicester vs Saracens13:00
Sunday , November 23
London Welsh vs Leicester15:15
Saturday , November 29
Leicester vs Wasps15:00
Saturday , December 20
Northampton vs Leicester15:00
Saturday , December 27
Sale vs Leicester14:00
Saturday , January 3
Leicester vs Bath15:00
Saturday , January 10
Harlequins vs Leicester15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 25
Scarlets vs Leicester19:45
Saturday , December 6
Leicester vs ToulonTBC
Saturday , December 13
Toulon vs LeicesterTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
  • Leicester Tigers Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 18
Leicester 25 - 18 UlsterLeicester vs Ulster Report
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Friday , October 10
Leicester 22 - 16 HarlequinsLeicester vs Harlequins Report
Saturday , October 4
Gloucester 33 - 16 Leicester
Saturday , September 27
Leicester 19 - 22 London Irish
Saturday , September 20
Bath 45 - 0 Leicester
Saturday , September 13
Exeter 20 - 24 Leicester
Saturday , September 6
Leicester 36 - 17 Newcastle
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
6Gloucester615
7Harlequins614
8Leicester Tigers614
9London Irish612
10Sale Sharks611