Planet Rugby

Leicester

Leicester

Australian coach joins Leicester

02nd June 2014 11:33

Share:

Phill Blake Wallabies assistant coach 2012

Defence: Phil Blake

Australian coach Phil Blake will join Leicester Tigers' staff as defence coach in time for the new season.

London-born Blake enjoyed a long and successful playing career in rugby league in the Southern Hemisphere before coaching in both codes, including spells with Western Force and as defence and skills coach with Australia under Robbie Deans.

He has been head coach of Australian club Manly since 2013 and led them to a ten-game unbeaten start to the Shute Shield season as well as being appointed head coach of the North Harbour Rays for the inaugural National Rugby Championship season.

Blake, 50, will join the Tigers coaching team alongside director of rugby Richard Cockerill and coaches Paul Burke, Richard Blaze and Geordan Murphy.

"I'm delighted that Phil has agreed to join us in the role of defence coach," said director of rugby Richard Cockerill.

"He is very well thought of in the game and very experienced, and has worked in a number of different environments, including Super Rugby and at Test level in Australia.

"He joins a very strong group of coaches at this club and we look forward to working with Phil in his new role."

  • Leicester Tigers Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , November 29
Leicester Tigers vs Wasps15:00
Saturday , December 20
Northampton vs Leicester15:00
Saturday , December 27
Sale vs Leicester14:00
Saturday , January 3
Leicester vs Bath15:00
Saturday , January 10
Harlequins vs Leicester15:00
Saturday , February 14
Leicester vs Gloucester15:00
Saturday , February 21
London Irish vs Leicester15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
European Rugby Champions Cup
Sunday , December 7
Leicester vs Toulon17:30
Saturday , December 13
Toulon vs Leicester15:15
Saturday , January 17
Leicester vs ScarletsTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
  • Leicester Tigers Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , November 23
London Welsh 5 - 26 Leicester TigersLondon Welsh vs Leicester Tigers Report
Sunday , November 16
Leicester Tigers 21 - 21 SaracensLeicester Tigers vs Saracens Report
More Aviva Premiership results
LV= Cup
Sunday , November 9
Leicester 29 - 13 Sale SharksLeicester vs Sale Sharks Report
Saturday , November 1
London Irish 16 - 17 Leicester
More LV= Cup results
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 25
Scarlets 15 - 3 Leicester
Saturday , October 18
Leicester 25 - 18 Ulster
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Friday , October 10
Leicester 22 - 16 Harlequins
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
3Bath828
4Saracens825
5Leicester Tigers821
6Wasps820
7Sale Sharks820