Planet Rugby

Leicester

Leicester

Tigers highly motivated - Cockerill

15th May 2014 10:46

Share:

Richard Cockerill Newcastle Leicester

Richard Cockerill: Can't stand losing to Saints

Leicester boss Richard Cockerill believes the fact that his side are playing arch-rivals Northampton in the semi-finals will be all the motivation they need.

The Tigers beat Northampton in last season's Premiership final at Twickenham, a match where the Saints never recovered from the red card shown to England hooker Dylan Hartley for swearing at referee Wayne Barnes.

And in this term's regular season, Leicester were the only side to win at Northampton's Franklin's Gardens ground, the venue for Friday's semi-final.

Leicester have not lost to Northampton in 10 fixtures, a record which Cockerill, a veteran of the East Midlands derby as a player as well as a coach, is well aware.

"I would hate to lose to Northampton because I would hate to lose to Northampton, don't worry about it being a semi-final," said Cockerill of a rivalry between the two clubs that dates back 134 years.

Victory would see Leicester into a tenth consecutive Premiership final and for all that Northampton finished second in the league, four points in front of the Tigers, it is Cockerill's men who will be the favourites.

But Hartley - who will not be in action due to a shoulder injury - said now was the time for the Saints to set the record straight and end a winless run against Leicester that stretches back four years.

"I think we respond well to challenges," he said.

"Ulster away last season, Leinster away this season.

"When it is laid down to us, we respond well. We can't keep saying success is being a top-four side. The next thing to measure our success is a trophy."

  • Leicester Tigers Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , November 16
Leicester vs Saracens13:00
Sunday , November 23
London Welsh vs Leicester15:15
Saturday , November 29
Leicester vs Wasps15:00
Saturday , December 20
Northampton vs Leicester15:00
Saturday , December 27
Sale vs Leicester14:00
Saturday , January 3
Leicester vs Bath15:00
Saturday , January 10
Harlequins vs Leicester15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 25
Scarlets vs LeicesterScarlets vs Leicester Preview
Saturday , December 6
Leicester vs ToulonTBC
Saturday , December 13
Toulon vs LeicesterTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
  • Leicester Tigers Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 18
Leicester 25 - 18 UlsterLeicester vs Ulster Report
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Friday , October 10
Leicester 22 - 16 HarlequinsLeicester vs Harlequins Report
Saturday , October 4
Gloucester 33 - 16 Leicester
Saturday , September 27
Leicester 19 - 22 London Irish
Saturday , September 20
Bath 45 - 0 Leicester
Saturday , September 13
Exeter 20 - 24 Leicester
Saturday , September 6
Leicester 36 - 17 Newcastle
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
6Gloucester615
7Harlequins614
8Leicester Tigers614
9London Irish612
10Sale Sharks611