Planet Rugby

Leicester

Leicester

Premiership semi-final dates firmed

07th May 2014 16:13

Share:

Aviva Premiership trophy

Dates set: Semi-finals

Premiership Rugby confirmed on Wednesday the dates for the upcoming semi-final stages of this year's hotly-contested competition.

With three of the clubs chasing a semi-final berth having also qualified in one of the two European finals, Premiership Rugby has decided it is important to avoid a potential short turnaround for clubs involved in those European finals and to give their semi-final clubs as much notice as possible.

As a result, this year the first Premiership semi-final will be played at 1945 BST on Friday 16 May and the second one at 1400 BST on Saturday 17 May.

The first semi-final on Friday evening will be either Northampton Saints or Leicester Tigers at home and the second one on Saturday afternoon will see Saracens at home.

"We are delighted to see three of our teams reach a European final this season so it was important we did all we could in terms of setting fixtures to give them as much chance of success as possible," said Premiership Rugby Chief Executive Mark McCafferty.

"I would like to put on record our thanks for the co-operation of our broadcast partner, BT Sport, in making this decision. They played a key role in this arrangement to back the English clubs in Europe.

"Friday evening has been a big success this season and has produced some great matches. With an Premiership final spot now at stake, I'm sure the atmosphere and the occasion will go up another few notches.

  • Leicester Tigers Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , November 16
Leicester vs Saracens13:00
Sunday , November 23
London Welsh vs Leicester15:15
Saturday , November 29
Leicester vs Wasps15:00
Saturday , December 20
Northampton vs Leicester15:00
Saturday , December 27
Sale vs Leicester14:00
Saturday , January 3
Leicester vs Bath15:00
Saturday , January 10
Harlequins vs Leicester15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 25
Scarlets vs Leicester19:45
Saturday , December 6
Leicester vs ToulonTBC
Saturday , December 13
Toulon vs LeicesterTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
  • Leicester Tigers Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 18
Leicester 25 - 18 UlsterLeicester vs Ulster Report
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Friday , October 10
Leicester 22 - 16 HarlequinsLeicester vs Harlequins Report
Saturday , October 4
Gloucester 33 - 16 Leicester
Saturday , September 27
Leicester 19 - 22 London Irish
Saturday , September 20
Bath 45 - 0 Leicester
Saturday , September 13
Exeter 20 - 24 Leicester
Saturday , September 6
Leicester 36 - 17 Newcastle
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
6Gloucester615
7Harlequins614
8Leicester Tigers614
9London Irish612
10Sale Sharks611