Planet Rugby

Leicester

Leicester

Goneva extends Tigers stay

12th April 2014 09:20

Share:

SKY_MOBILE Vereniki Goneva Leicester Tigers

Vereniki Goneva: Happy at Leicester

Leicester Tigers have announced that Vereniki Goneva has agreed a new contract to extend his stay at the club.

After lengthy speculation surrounding the Fijian international's future, top try-scorer Goneva has now agreed a new deal at Welford Road.

Goneva has become a big favourite with supporters since joining Tigers in the summer of 2012 and has been in top form this season, scoring 11 tries in 21 appearances for the club.

Named as Aviva Premiership Player of the Month for February, he is also shortlisted for Player of the Year in the Tigers supporters' awards.

Tigers director of rugby Richard Cockerill expressed his delight that Goneva has decided to extend his stay at the club.

"Niki has become a very important player for us, he has been playing the best rugby of his career this season and we believe this environment will help him to be the best he can possibly be on the pitch," he told Leicester Tigers' official website.

"Leicester Tigers is a big club in English and European rugby, and we want to keep hold of our big players.

"I'm delighted that Niki has agreed to stay beyond the end of this season and it will be a very popular decision with the rest of the players and with our supporters."

Goneva has scored 18 tries in 37 appearances so far in his two seasons at Tigers and is thrilled to stay at the club.

"I'm very happy to stay with Leicester Tigers," he said.

"The club, the players and the supporters have been very good to me since I came here."

  • Leicester Tigers Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , November 16
Leicester vs Saracens13:00
Sunday , November 23
London Welsh vs Leicester15:15
Saturday , November 29
Leicester vs Wasps15:00
Saturday , December 20
Northampton vs Leicester15:00
Saturday , December 27
Sale vs Leicester14:00
Saturday , January 3
Leicester vs Bath15:00
Saturday , January 10
Harlequins vs Leicester15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 25
Scarlets vs Leicester19:45
Saturday , December 6
Leicester vs ToulonTBC
Saturday , December 13
Toulon vs LeicesterTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
  • Leicester Tigers Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 18
Leicester 25 - 18 UlsterLeicester vs Ulster Report
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Friday , October 10
Leicester 22 - 16 HarlequinsLeicester vs Harlequins Report
Saturday , October 4
Gloucester 33 - 16 Leicester
Saturday , September 27
Leicester 19 - 22 London Irish
Saturday , September 20
Bath 45 - 0 Leicester
Saturday , September 13
Exeter 20 - 24 Leicester
Saturday , September 6
Leicester 36 - 17 Newcastle
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
6Gloucester615
7Harlequins614
8Leicester Tigers614
9London Irish612
10Sale Sharks611