Planet Rugby

Leicester

Leicester

LV= Cup wrap: Tigers edge Exiles

18th November 2012 17:55

Share:

George Ford Leicester Tigers

Tigers star: George Ford

LV=Cup holders Leicester resisted a ferocious fightback by London Irish to get their campaign back on track while Wasps beat Warriors.

Results:
Leicester Tigers 22-15 London Irish
Dragons 20-30 Northampton Saints
London Wasps 28-19 Worcester Warriors


Leicester Tigers 22-15 London Irish

Trailing 19-8 with 11 minutes left at Welford Road, the Exiles threw everything at Tigers - who were down to 14 men - and scored their second try of the afternoon to reduce the deficit to four points.

But young fly-half George Ford sealed victory with his fifth penalty of the game, taking his tally to 17 points.

Lock Rob Andrew scored Leicester's only try, while Irish scored two through Anthony Watson and Tom Homer.


Dragons 20-30 Northampton Saints

Fly-half Ryan Lamb booted 20 points as the Saints turned on the style after the interval to overturn a 10-6 half-time deficit.

Wing Tonderai Chavhanga scored only the third ever hat-trick of tries for the Dragons but it was not enough to prevent his side's second LV= Cup defeat this season.

Flanker Phil Dowson and wing Jamie Elliott got the tries for Northampton.


London Wasps 28-19 Worcester Warriors

Wasps opened their account in the LV= Cup as 21-year-old prop Simon McIntyre grabbed an opportunist try to help sink Worcester for the second time this season.

Winger Jack Wallace and replacement scrum-half Charlie Davies also scored for Wasps with fly-half Tommy Bell contributing 13 points with a 100 percent goal-kicking display.

Worcester replied with tries from centre Alex Grove, wing Andy Short and replacement wing Ben Howard, with fly-half Joe Carlisle landing two conversions.

  • Leicester Tigers Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , November 16
Leicester vs Saracens13:00
Sunday , November 23
London Welsh vs Leicester15:15
Saturday , November 29
Leicester vs Wasps15:00
Saturday , December 20
Northampton vs Leicester15:00
Saturday , December 27
Sale vs Leicester14:00
Saturday , January 3
Leicester vs Bath15:00
Saturday , January 10
Harlequins vs Leicester15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 25
Scarlets vs LeicesterScarlets vs Leicester Preview
Saturday , December 6
Leicester vs ToulonTBC
Saturday , December 13
Toulon vs LeicesterTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
  • Leicester Tigers Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 18
Leicester 25 - 18 UlsterLeicester vs Ulster Report
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Friday , October 10
Leicester 22 - 16 HarlequinsLeicester vs Harlequins Report
Saturday , October 4
Gloucester 33 - 16 Leicester
Saturday , September 27
Leicester 19 - 22 London Irish
Saturday , September 20
Bath 45 - 0 Leicester
Saturday , September 13
Exeter 20 - 24 Leicester
Saturday , September 6
Leicester 36 - 17 Newcastle
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
6Gloucester615
7Harlequins614
8Leicester Tigers614
9London Irish612
10Sale Sharks611