Planet Rugby

Harlequins

Harlequins

Quins stars back O'Shea decision

26th March 2014 05:53

Share:

danny care conor oshea harlequins

Best interests: Care and O'Shea

Harlequins and England duo Chris Robshaw and Danny Care have both backed underfire boss Conor O'Shea for resting them last weekend.

O'Shea opted to leave out England captain Robshaw and star pair Mike Brown and Care for last Saturday's match at Wembley to provide the trio with more recovery time following the Six Nations.

Saracens started England fly-half Owen Farrell and prop Mako Vunipola, running out 39-17 winners and scoring five tries.

However both Robshaw and Care feel it was the right decision in the long-term, despite Harlequins slipping to sixth in the Premiership and struggling to secure a top four finish for the end of the season.

"Every now and then you need someone to see the bigger picture and do what's best for us. We back the boss," Robshaw told the Mirror.

"I would love to have played, particularly at Wembley, but Conor has our best interests at heart," said Care.

"We've had a horrendous run of injuries this season and the easiest decision for me would have been to get them all back in," explained O'Shea.

"But my job is to look after this group. Mike Brown said to me a couple of weeks ago he was absolutely shattered.

"By not playing last weekend he's back to looking a million dollars."

  • Harlequins Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Friday , November 14
Gloucester vs Harlequins19:45
Friday , November 21
Harlequins vs Sale19:45
Friday , November 28
Bath vs Harlequins19:45
Saturday , December 20
Harlequins vs Newcastle15:00
Saturday , December 27
Harlequins vs Northampton15:00
Sunday , January 4
London Welsh vs Harlequins14:30
Saturday , January 10
Harlequins vs Leicester15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
European Rugby Champions Cup
Sunday , October 26
Wasps vs Harlequins17:15
Saturday , December 6
Harlequins vs LeinsterTBC
Saturday , December 13
Leinster vs HarlequinsTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
  • Harlequins Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Friday , October 17
Harlequins 25 - 9 CastresHarlequins vs Castres Report
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Friday , October 10
Leicester 22 - 16 HarlequinsLeicester vs Harlequins Report
Saturday , October 4
Harlequins 52 - 0 London Welsh
Sunday , September 28
Exeter 36 - 13 Harlequins
Saturday , September 20
Harlequins 26 - 23 Wasps
Friday , September 12
Harlequins 0 - 39 Saracens
Saturday , September 6
London Irish 15 - 20 Harlequins
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
5Wasps615
6Gloucester615
7Harlequins614
8Leicester Tigers614
9London Irish612