Planet Rugby

Gloucester

Gloucester

Davies' man-management slammed

10th July 2014 12:57

Share:

huia edmonds gloucester

Scorned: Huia Edmonds

Former Gloucester hooker Huia Edmonds has hit out at sacked director of rugby Nigel Davies, describing him as 'a strange one.'

The Australian hooker has now moved to Narbonne after failing to secure a contract extension with Gloucester while Davies was still in charge.

Davies has been replaced by David Humphries in the chief role, with Brumbies head coach Laurie Fisher also moving to Kingsholm.

Edmonds added that Fisher would be better at interacting with the members of Gloucester's squad than his predecessor.

"It was a little bit disappointing because I really enjoyed my time at Gloucester and to not get another contract was a bit of a shock," Edmonds told the Gloucester Citizen.

"But that's rugby, players go in and out of contracts and you either stay or go. I wasn't wanted by Nigel so I had to go. Nigel was a strange one.

"We didn't really have the best relationship and I think he would admit that - I certainly can.

"He only had relationships with certain players and then nothing with others.

"That was really bad man management and that will be the difference when Laurie Fisher comes in as head coach.

"He's a very good man manager, he's great at one to ones and he will be studying up on every single player and looking at their pros and cons.

"You might look at him and think 'what the hell' but his rugby brain is absolutely outstanding, he works very hard and knows his stuff in and out.

"He's certainly up there with the very best coaches I have worked with simply because of the manner in which he manages players."

  • Gloucester Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , November 30
London Irish vs Gloucester13:00
Saturday , December 20
Gloucester vs Bath15:00
Saturday , December 27
Gloucester vs Wasps15:00
Saturday , January 3
Exeter vs Gloucester15:00
Saturday , January 10
Gloucester vs Saracens15:00
Saturday , February 14
Leicester vs Gloucester15:00
Saturday , February 21
Gloucester vs London Welsh15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
LV= Cup
Saturday , January 31
Gloucester vs Ospreys15:00
Saturday , February 7
Gloucester vs Harlequins15:00
More LV= Cup fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Sunday , December 7
Gloucester vs Zebre15:15
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Gloucester Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Friday , November 21
Newcastle Falcons 20 - 10 GloucesterNewcastle Falcons vs Gloucester Report
Friday , November 14
Gloucester 15 - 22 HarlequinsGloucester vs Harlequins Report
More Aviva Premiership results
LV= Cup
Sunday , November 9
London Welsh 9 - 18 Gloucester
Saturday , November 1
Exeter 28 - 27 Gloucester
More LV= Cup results
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , October 25
Oyonnax 15 - 25 Gloucester
Thursday , October 16
Gloucester 55 - 0 Brive
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , October 11
Saracens 28 - 21 Gloucester
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
7Sale Sharks820
8Harlequins819
9Gloucester816
10Newcastle Falcons813
11London Irish812