Planet Rugby

Gloucester

Gloucester

Ulster stunned by Humphreys exit

09th June 2014 07:00

Share:

ulster shane logan david humphreys

Amicable: Logan & Humphreys

Ulster CEO Shane Logan admits the departure of director of rugby David Humphreys was a shock, but the province wouldn't stop him.

Humphreys announced on Saturday that he would be leaving Ulster after decades of service as a player and coach, heading to the Aviva Premiership to take over at Gloucester.

The former Ireland fly-half will replace the sacked boss Nigel Davies at Kingsholm and work with an impressive squad including last week's signing James Hook, with Logan highlighting his success with Ulster when it came to recruitment.

While admitting to being 'taken aback' by the news from Humphreys on Saturday, Logan added that Ulster would never stand in the way of his ambitions.

"His recruitment and retention of players at Ulster was second to none in Europe," Logan told the Irish Examiner.

"He's always been very successful and has great morals and humility. I think his skill set fitted perfectly well with the people we've got at the club.

"I don't think we tried to do anything [to stop him].

"I think David has been consistent over the years that he wants his career to advance.

"We've had a joint career plan. Part of that has been to advance excellent levels of success and a really good legacy here.

"We wouldn't stand in David's way."

Ulster must now begin the process of finding a successor for Humphreys ahead of next season.

  • Gloucester Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , October 4
Gloucester vs Leicester15:15
Saturday , October 11
Saracens vs Gloucester15:00
Friday , November 14
Gloucester vs Harlequins19:45
Friday , November 21
Newcastle vs Gloucester20:00
Sunday , November 30
London Irish vs Gloucester13:00
Saturday , December 20
Gloucester vs Bath15:00
Saturday , December 27
Gloucester vs Wasps15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
LV= Cup
Saturday , November 1
Exeter vs Gloucester15:00
Saturday , November 8
London Welsh vs Gloucester15:00
More LV= Cup fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Thursday , October 16
Gloucester vs Brive19:45
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Gloucester Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Friday , September 26
London Welsh 10 - 46 GloucesterLondon Welsh vs Gloucester Report
Friday , September 19
Gloucester 22 - 25 ExeterGloucester vs Exeter Report
Saturday , September 13
Gloucester 34 - 27 Sale Sharks
Friday , September 5
Northampton 53 - 6 Gloucester
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
5Wasps411
6London Irish411
7Gloucester410
8Leicester Tigers410
9Harlequins48