Planet Rugby

Gloucester

Gloucester

Mallett squashes Gloucester rumours

15th May 2014 05:59

Share:

Nick Mallett coaching 2011

Not interested: Nick Mallett

Former Springbok coach Nick Mallett has poured cold water on rumours linking him to Gloucester's vacant Director of Rugby post.

Widespread reports in the English and South African press have named the ex-Italy and Stade Franšais boss as the a leading contender on the Cherry and Whites shortlist but the English-born coach says he has no interest in returning to European club rugby.

"My position has not changed (since being linked to England in 2011)," Mallett told the Gloucester Citizen.

"I'm not interested in coaching Premiership or French professional rugby.

"I'm contracted to (South Afriva broadcaster) SuperSport until the end of 2015 and will look at international opportunities or to stay with SuperSport after the World Cup."

Gloucester CEO Stephen Vaughan has promised to bring a top-level coach to Kingsholm following Monday's shock dismissal of Nigel Davies.

The short list of candidates is beleived to include the like of Wayne Smith, Dean Richards, Lyn Jones, Kingsley Jones, and current player/coach Mike Tindall.

  • Gloucester Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Friday , September 5
Northampton vs Gloucester19:45
Saturday , September 13
Gloucester vs Sale15:00
Friday , September 19
Gloucester vs Exeter19:45
Friday , September 26
London Welsh vs Gloucester19:45
Saturday , October 4
Gloucester vs Leicester15:15
Saturday , October 11
Saracens vs Gloucester15:00
Saturday , November 15
Gloucester vs Harlequins15:00
Friday , November 21
Newcastle vs Gloucester20:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
LV= Cup
Saturday , November 1
Gloucester vs Ospreys15:00
Saturday , November 8
London Welsh vs Gloucester15:00
More LV= Cup fixtures
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
1Bath00
2Exeter00
3Gloucester00
4Harlequins00
5Leicester Tigers00