Planet Rugby

Gloucester

Gloucester

Gloucester closing in on Laidlaw

03rd March 2014 10:01

Share:

greig laidlaw edinburgh

English move: Greig Laidlaw

Scotland and Edinburgh half-back Greig Laidlaw could be on his way to Aviva Premiership side Gloucester, according to reports.

The 28-year-old, who can operate at either scrum-half or fly-half, is viewed as a replacement for departing England number ten Freddie Burns.

Laidlaw has become a key man for club and country, captaining Edinburgh several times. He played an instrumental role in Edinburgh's run to the Heineken Cup semi-finals in 2011/2012.

Gloucester are currently undergoing a major rejuvenation of their squad for next season, with Wales hooker Richard Hibbard and Ulster prop John Afoa already on their way to Kingsholm.

The Cherry and Whites had been linked with Bayonne fly-half Stephen Brett, but the former Blues and Crusaders player seems more likely to join London Irish.

Gloucester will probably also add a second fly-half option given that Ryan Mills is also leaving the club to join Worcester.

  • Gloucester Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Friday , November 14
Gloucester vs Harlequins19:45
Friday , November 21
Newcastle vs Gloucester20:00
Sunday , November 30
London Irish vs Gloucester13:00
Saturday , December 20
Gloucester vs Bath15:00
Saturday , December 27
Gloucester vs Wasps15:00
Saturday , January 3
Exeter vs Gloucester15:00
Saturday , January 10
Gloucester vs Saracens15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
LV= Cup
Saturday , November 1
Exeter vs Gloucester15:00
Sunday , November 9
London Welsh vs Gloucester14:30
More LV= Cup fixtures
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Sunday , December 7
Gloucester vs Zebre15:15
More European Rugby Challenge Cup fixtures
  • Gloucester Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Challenge Cup
Saturday , October 25
Oyonnax 15 - 25 Gloucester
Thursday , October 16
Gloucester 55 - 0 BriveGloucester vs Brive Report
More European Rugby Challenge Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , October 11
Saracens 28 - 21 GloucesterSaracens vs Gloucester Report
Saturday , October 4
Gloucester 33 - 16 Leicester
Friday , September 26
London Welsh 10 - 46 Gloucester
Friday , September 19
Gloucester 22 - 25 Exeter
Saturday , September 13
Gloucester 34 - 27 Sale Sharks
Friday , September 5
Northampton 53 - 6 Gloucester
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
4Bath620
5Wasps615
6Gloucester615
7Harlequins614
8Leicester Tigers614