Planet Rugby

Bath

Bath

Henson set for Dragons switch?

02nd March 2014 13:29

Share:

Gavin Henson Bath v Newcastle AVP 2013

Moving again? Gavin Henson

Reports suggest controversial former Wales and Bath midfielder Gavin Henson could be set for a move to the Dragons next season.

The 32-year-old international, often in the headlines for the wrong reasons, has struggled to win game time and find his place at The Rec, as Bath have enjoyed a fine Premiership campaign thus far.

The Express reports that Henson, who joined Bath from London Welsh during pre-season 2013, has agreed a switch to the Dragons at the end of the current season.

If the move did take place, it would see Henson reunited with mentor Lyn Jones - Dragons Director of Rugby - whom the former golden boy of Welsh rugby played under at the Ospreys and London Welsh.

In January, the centre - who can play in several positions across the backline - stated he would consider moving to Rodney Parade, and linking up with Jones in a WalesOnline interview.

"Bath signed me as cover and I was hoping I would push my way into the first team but it's been playing that well I haven't had too many chances," said Henson.

"When I joined them I didn't have a lot of options elsewhere but, irrespective of my future at Bath, I want to keep on playing rugby.

"I do feel I have a few more years of good rugby in me and I don't want to stop at the end of the season. If it's not at Bath, hopefully somebody else will want me.

"Things seem to be on the up at the Dragons with Lyn in charge. Perhaps they'd be interested in me.

"Seriously, I'd consider anything ... I've always enjoyed working with Lyn."

  • Bath Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
Aviva Premiership
Saturday , November 15
Bath vs Newcastle17:00
Saturday , November 22
London Irish vs Bath15:00
Friday , November 28
Bath vs Harlequins19:45
Saturday , December 20
Gloucester vs Bath15:00
Saturday , December 27
Bath vs Exeter15:00
Saturday , January 3
Leicester vs Bath15:00
Saturday , January 10
Bath vs Wasps15:00
More Aviva Premiership fixtures
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 25
Bath vs Toulouse15:15
Saturday , December 6
Montpellier vs BathTBC
Saturday , December 13
Bath vs MontpellierTBC
More European Rugby Champions Cup fixtures
  • Bath Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
European Rugby Champions Cup
Saturday , October 18
Glasgow 37 - 10 BathGlasgow vs Bath Report
More European Rugby Champions Cup results
Aviva Premiership
Sunday , October 12
Wasps 29 - 22 BathWasps vs Bath Report
Friday , October 3
Bath 21 - 11 Saracens
Saturday , September 27
Northampton 31 - 24 Bath
Saturday , September 20
Bath 45 - 0 Leicester
Saturday , September 13
Bath 53 - 26 London Welsh
Saturday , September 6
Sale Sharks 20 - 29 Bath
More Aviva Premiership results
  • Table
Aviva Premiership Table
PosTeamPPts
2Saracens622
3Exeter620
4Bath620
5Wasps615
6Gloucester615