Planet Rugby

Leopards overpower Pumas

05th August 2011 21:42


pumas v leopards

Leopards: Open their account

The Leopards climbed off the bottom rung of the Currie Cup ladder with a convincing 27-15 win over the Pumas in Potchefstroom on Friday night.

The hosts fought back from a 14-7 deficit to secure a morale boosting win, their first of the competition, with debutant fly-half Wesley Dunlop securing 12 of their points.

Leopards wing Danie Dames went over in the 17th minute and Dunlop converted to give them the home side an early lead.

The Pumas, however, struck back with force as winger Deon Scholtz and centre Dewald Pretorius dotted down within seven minutes of each other.

Fly-half Coenie van Wyk was successful with both conversion attempts and the visitors held a 14-7 lead midway through the first half.

Dunlop countered with a penalty and flanker Luvuyiso Lusaseni as well as full-back George Tossel stormed over before half-time, with Dunlop converting both tries as the Leopards took a 24-12 advantage into the break.

Van Wyk missed a penalty five minutes after the restart, but made up for it shortly afterwards with his team's only three points of the second period.

Dunlop was also successful with a penalty attempt in the 58th minute, bagging the last points of the match.

The Pumas were left struggling after four rounds of the domestic competition as the only team without a win.

However, as it currently stands, it's the Blue Bulls who are left at the bottom of the Currie Cup standings.

The scorers:

For Leopards:
Tries: Dames, Lusaseni, Tossel
Cons: Dunlop 3
Pens: Dunlop 2

For Pumas:
Tries: Scholtz, Pretorius
Con: Van Wyk
Pen: Van Wyk

Leopards: 15 George Tossel, 14 Danie Dames, 13 Charl Weideman, 12 Joubert Engelbrecht, 11 Wynand Willis, 10 Wesley Dunlop, 9 Whestley Moolman, 8 Morné Hanekom (c), 7 Luvuyiso Lusaseni, 6 Philip de Wet, 5 Brendon Snyman, 4 Roelof van Heerden, 3 Stephan Bezuidenhout, 2 Gavin Williamson, 1 BG Uys.
Replacements: 16 Bęrend Botha, 17 Marius Fourie, 18 Christo van Niekerk, 19 Juan Pretorius, 20 Theo van Wyk, 21 Walter Venter, 22 Clayton Durand.

Pumas: 15 MJ Mentz, 14 Deon Scholtz, 13 JW Jonker, 12 Tiaan Marx, 11 Shandré Frolick, 10 Coenie van Wyk, 9 Shaun Venter, 8 Christo le Roux, 7 Jaco Bouwer, 6 Corné Steenkamp (c), 5 Marius Coetzer, 4 Rudi Mathee, 3 Ashley Buys, 2 Marthinus van der Westhuizen, 1 Dawie Steyn.
Replacements: 16 Torsten van Jaarsveld, 17 De-Jay Terblanche, 18 Eduan van der Walt, 19 Reginald Kember, 20 Hendrik van der Nest, 21 Dewald Pretorius, 22 Carl Bezuidenhout.

Referee: Lourens van der Merwe

  • Currie Cup Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
All times are local
Currie Cup
Friday , August 8
Eastern Province Kings vs Western Province19:10
Saturday , August 9
Griquas vs Sharks15:00
Lions vs Blue Bulls17:05
Pumas vs Cheetahs19:10
Friday , August 15
Sharks vs Pumas19:10
Saturday , August 16
Lions vs Eastern Province Kings14:30
Cheetahs vs Griquas15:00
Western Province vs Blue Bulls14:00
Friday , August 22
Pumas vs Griquas19:10
Saturday , August 23
Blue Bulls vs Eastern Province Kings15:00
More Currie Cup fixtures
  • Currie Cup Table
Currie Cup 2013
Currie Cup Table
1Western Province1037
4Golden Lions1026
5Blue Bulls1017