Planet Rugby

Preview: Bay of Plenty v Tasman

22nd August 2014 13:56


Billy Guyton Tasman ITM Cup 2013

Billy Guyton: Continues at nine for Tasman

Tasman have made just one change to their starting line-up for Sunday's clash with Bay of Plenty in Tauranga.

Tevita Koloamatangi is replaced by Nemani Nagusa on the blindside flank as Tasman's coaches Kieran Keane and Leon MacDonald keep faith with the rest of the side which beat Hawke's Bay last weekend.

That means that Billy Guyton will once again start at scrum-half as he continues his halfback combination with Marty Banks while former All Blacks number nine Jummy Cowan, who joined the Makos at the start of the season after a spell with Gloucester in the Aviva Premiership, starts amongst the replacements.

The rest of the back-line sees James Lowe back at full-back with Bryce Heem and Mitchell Scott starting on the wings and Kieron Fonotia and Tom Marshall forming the midfield combination.

Up front Nagusa is joined in the back row by Tasman's captain, and fellow flanker, Shane Christie, and Liam Squire who starts at number eight.

Joe Wheeler and Alex Ainley are the locks while Quentin MacDonald packs down at hooker alongside props Tim Perry and Ross Geldenhuys.

More to follow...

The teams:

Bay of Plenty:

Tasman: 15 James Lowe, 14 Bryce Heem, 13 Kieron Fonotia, 12 Tom Marshall, 11 Mitchell Scott, 10 Marty Banks, 9 Billy Guyton, 8 Liam Squire, 7 Shane Christie (c), 6 Nemani Nagusa, 5 Joe Wheeler, 4 Alex Ainley, 3 Ross Geldenhuys, 2 Quentin MacDonald, 1 Tim Perry.
Replacements: 16 Jesse MacDonald, 17 Siosuia Halanukonuka, 18 Tevita Cavubati, 19 Vernon Fredericks, 20 Jimmy Cowan, 21 David Havili, 22 Ben Tyler.

Date: Sunday, August 24
Kick-off: 16:35 local (05:35 BST, 04:35 GMT)
Venue: ASB Baypark Stadium, Tauranga
Referee: Ben O'Keeffe

  • ITM Cup Fixtures
  • ITM Cup Results
Recent Results
All times are local
Saturday , October 25
Taranaki 36 - 32 Tasman
Saturday , October 18
Manawatu 23 - 18 Southland
Taranaki 49 - 30 Auckland
Tasman 26 - 6 Canterbury
Friday , October 17
Hawkes Bay 26 - 21 Northland
Sunday , October 12
Taranaki 23 - 26 Canterbury
Tasman 16 - 21 Counties Manukau
Saturday , October 11
Wellington 58 - 34 North Harbour
Hawkes Bay 20 - 20 Southland
Auckland 38 - 10 Northland
More ITM Cup results
  • ITM Cup Table
Premiership 2014
ITM Cup Table
5Counties Manukau1028