Planet Rugby

Preview: Hawke's Bay v Taranaki

21st August 2014 10:53


Colin Cooper Taranaki coach ITM Cup 2013

Colin Cooper: Fields the same starting XV that drew with Counties

Taranaki will field the same starting XV for two games in a row for the first time in 40 games when they face Hawke's Bay in Napier on Friday.

On a rare occasion when injuries have not cut into the options available, Taranaki coach Colin Cooper has grabbed hold of the chance to send the same men who ground out a 9-9 draw against Counties Manukau forward again.

It is a luxury he has not enjoyed since September 18, 2010, when Taranaki fronted for the union's 125th jubilee match against Canterbury.

The only change for the playing squad comes on the bench where Toa Halafihi comes in for Leighton Price in a broad hint the second-row will be asked to front for 80 minutes on Wednesday against Waikato.

"It gives us a bit better balance off the bench as well," said Taranaki assistant coach Leo Crowley.

"That means Blade [Thomson] will give us cover at lock."

No matter how they try and put the issue to one side and concentrate on Hawke's Bay, the fact they have three games in 10 days will have an influence on the tight five selections, especially.

"They are going to struggle to get 80 minutes in every game, so matter how you look at it, it gives us better balance and puts Leighton on ice for Waikato," added Crowley.

There was no temptation to make changes, with the coaching staff reasonably happy with the way the starting side fronted against Counties Manukau.

"At the end of the day we put what we thought was our strongest side out against Counties," explained Crowley.

"While we feel we didn't really fire a shot in a lot of ways, even though we competed really well, we didn't quite nail it, so why wouldn't we put the same side out and try and do that?"

More to follow...

The teams:

Hawke's Bay: tbc

Taranaki: 15 Codey Rei, 14 Seta Tamanivalu, 13 Charlie Ngatai, 12 James Marshall (c), 11 Waisake Naholo, 10 Marty McKenzie, 9 Jamison Gibson-Park, 8 Blade Thomson, 7 Berny Hall, 6 Mitchell Crosswell, 5 James Broadhurst, 4 Riki Hoeata, 3 Angus Ta'avao, 2 Rhys Marshall, 1 Mitchell Graham.
Replacements: 16 Timo Tutavaha, 17 Sione Lea, 18 Toa Halafihi, 19 Doug Tietjens, 20 Warwick Lahmert, 21 Jackson Ormond, 22 Beaudein Waaka.

Date: Friday, August 22
Kick-off: 20:05 local (09:05 BST, 08:05 GMT)
Venue: McLean Park, Napier
Referee: Michael Lash

  • ITM Cup Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
All times are local
Wednesday, September 24
North Harbour vs CanterburyNorth Harbour vs Canterbury Preview
Thursday , September 25
Bay Of Plenty vs Northland19:35
Friday , September 26
Taranaki vs Auckland19:35
Saturday , September 27
Waikato vs Manawatu14:35
Counties Manukau vs Wellington17:35
North Harbour vs Hawkes Bay19:35
Sunday , September 28
Tasman vs Otago14:35
Canterbury vs Southland16:35
Wednesday, October 1
Hawkes Bay vs Wellington19:35
Thursday , October 2
Auckland vs Waikato19:35
More ITM Cup fixtures
  • ITM Cup Results
Recent Results
All times are local
Sunday , September 21
Otago 38 - 7 WaikatoOtago vs Waikato Report
Wellington 20 - 42 TasmanWellington vs Tasman Report
Saturday , September 20
Hawkes Bay 36 - 17 Bay Of Plenty
Auckland 32 - 7 North HarbourAuckland vs North Harbour Report
Manawatu 36 - 17 Southland
Friday , September 19
Counties Manukau 20 - 28 CanterburyCounties Manukau vs Canterbury Report
Thursday , September 18
Northland 20 - 31 TaranakiNorthland vs Taranaki Report
Wednesday, September 17
Southland 14 - 38 TasmanSouthland vs Tasman Report
Sunday , September 14
Waikato 26 - 21 Counties ManukauWaikato vs Counties Manukau Report
Hawkes Bay 41 - 0 Otago
More ITM Cup results
  • ITM Cup Table
Premiership 2014
ITM Cup Table