Planet Rugby

Surgery for Savea and Toomaga-Allen

01st August 2014 18:23

Share:

Jeffery Toomaga Allen running out for Wellington

Ruled out: Toomaga-Allen

Wellington have been dealt a double setback ahead of the ITM Cup after tighthead Jeffery Toomaga-Allen and flanker Ardie Savea suffered injuries.

Toomaga-Allen, who enjoyed an outstanding Super Rugby season for the Hurricanes, is set for knee surgery which may rule him out until 2015.

"Depending on what the surgeon finds when he gets there, that will have an impact on his recovery time, but we won't see him during the ITM Cup," Lions head coach Chris Boyd told stuff.co.nz.

"You can never say 100 per cent until they go in and have a good look, but I don't expect to see him until the next Hurricanes season."

Meanwhile, flank Savea also requires surgery on a shoulder issue in another significant blow for Boyd and the Lions ahead of their campaign.

"Ardie will have surgery in two weeks from now and based on the scans it doesn't look too good, but again, you never know," he added.

"The bright side, if there is one right now, is they'll both be fighting fit for Super Rugby."

  • ITM Cup Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
ITM Cup
Friday , September 19
Counties Manukau vs CanterburyCounties Manukau vs Canterbury Preview
Saturday , September 20
Hawkes Bay vs Bay Of Plenty14:35
Auckland vs North HarbourAuckland vs North Harbour Preview
Manawatu vs Southland19:35
Sunday , September 21
Otago vs Waikato14:35
Wellington vs Tasman14:35
Wellington vs Tasman16:35
Wednesday, September 24
North Harbour vs Canterbury19:35
Thursday , September 25
Bay Of Plenty vs Northland19:35
Friday , September 26
Taranaki vs Auckland19:35
More ITM Cup fixtures
  • ITM Cup Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
ITM Cup
Thursday , September 18
Northland 20 - 31 TaranakiNorthland vs Taranaki Report
Wednesday, September 17
Southland 14 - 38 TasmanSouthland vs Tasman Report
Sunday , September 14
Waikato 26 - 21 Counties ManukauWaikato vs Counties Manukau Report
Hawkes Bay 41 - 0 Otago
Saturday , September 13
Bay Of Plenty 12 - 27 AucklandBay Of Plenty vs Auckland Report
Southland 36 - 34 Northland
Friday , September 12
North Harbour 24 - 13 Manawatu
Canterbury 46 - 12 WellingtonCanterbury vs Wellington Report
Thursday , September 11
Tasman 30 - 31 TaranakiTasman vs Taranaki Report
Wednesday, September 10
Otago 23 - 40 Northland
More ITM Cup results
  • ITM Cup Table
Premiership 2014
ITM Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Taranaki727
2Canterbury524
3Tasman622
4Auckland515
5Waikato615