Planet Rugby

Braid to have shoulder surgery

23rd June 2014 18:52

Share:

Luke Braid Blues v Sharks SR 2014

Set for surgery: Luke Braid

Blues openside flanker Luke Braid will have shoulder surgery during Super Rugby's off-season, which rules him out of Auckland's ITM Cup campaign.

The 25-year-old has been superb for his team this season but has been feeling pain during his showings, leading to him making the decision.

"It had got to the point where it was hurting more frequently," Braid told the New Zealand Herald.

"I got a scan which showed they weren't the best and due for a bit of a clean-up. I just thought that being 25 and halfway through my career. I hadn't had any major surgeries before. I've done pretty well to get to this point."

Braid, who was snubbed by the All Blacks for the recent Tests against England - Matt Todd and Sam Cane being Richie McCaw's understudies - believes he'll come back hungry to change that.

"I needed that break, but I definitely still have a huge desire to try to make the All Blacks," he added.

"I'll have the surgery, have six months off and get back for Super Rugby. That gives me time to have a rest mentally and get my body a bit bigger."

  • ITM Cup Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
ITM Cup
Friday , October 3
Northland vs North Harbour19:35
Saturday , October 4
Southland vs Counties Manukau14:35
Bay Of Plenty vs Otago17:35
Canterbury vs Tasman19:35
Sunday , October 5
Manawatu vs Hawkes Bay14:35
Wednesday, October 8
Counties Manukau vs Auckland19:35
Thursday , October 9
Waikato vs Bay Of Plenty19:35
Friday , October 10
Otago vs Manawatu19:35
Saturday , October 11
Wellington vs North Harbour14:35
Hawkes Bay vs Southland17:35
More ITM Cup fixtures
  • ITM Cup Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
ITM Cup
Thursday , October 2
Auckland 60 - 19 WaikatoAuckland vs Waikato Report
Wednesday, October 1
Hawkes Bay 36 - 14 WellingtonHawkes Bay vs Wellington Report
Sunday , September 28
Tasman 32 - 24 OtagoTasman vs Otago Report
Canterbury 26 - 28 SouthlandCanterbury vs Southland Report
Saturday , September 27
Waikato 20 - 22 ManawatuWaikato vs Manawatu Report
Counties Manukau 55 - 7 WellingtonCounties Manukau vs Wellington Report
North Harbour 28 - 25 Hawkes Bay
Friday , September 26
Taranaki 35 - 22 AucklandTaranaki vs Auckland Report
Thursday , September 25
Bay Of Plenty 27 - 30 Northland
Wednesday, September 24
North Harbour 29 - 24 CanterburyNorth Harbour vs Canterbury Report
More ITM Cup results
  • ITM Cup Table
Premiership 2014
ITM Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Taranaki832
2Tasman832
3Canterbury830
4Auckland825
5Waikato916