Planet Rugby

Preview: Canterbury v Waikato

28th August 2013 10:07


Luke Whitelock Canterbury

Back in red: Luke Whitelock

All Black squad members Colin Slade and Luke Whitelock return to the Canterbury team that will face Waikato in the ITM Cup on Thursday.

The pair missed last week's victory over Tasman due to international commitments but return to the fray after being released for provincial action.

Slade comes in at full-back in place of Jamie Verran who drops to the bench, while Whitelock slots in at number eight, relegating Jordan Taufua to the replacements.

Joe Moody has been ruled out of the encounter due to injury and his spot at loosehead prop is taken by Para Fa'anunu.

Coach Scott Robertson has continued his scrum-half rotation policy, with Willie Heinz getting a run this week at the expense of Andy Ellis.

Waikato coaches John Walters and Carl Hoeft have made nine changes to the team that surrendered the Ranfurly Shield to Otago last week.

Skipper Matt Vant Leven will miss the remainder of the season due to a finger injury while Jack Lam has returned to Samoa to attend to a family issue. Four unnamed players have also been disciplined for breaking team protocol.

Zak Hohneck has recovered from a knee injury in time to replace Vant Leven and Lam's spot on the flank is taken by youngster Adam Burn. In the only other change to the pack, prop Ben Tameifuna comes in for Paul Alo-Emile.

There are a raft of changes among the backs, with scrum-half Kylem O'Donnell the only man to retain his place.

O'Donnell will partner Wharenui Hawera in the half-backs while new captain Jackson Willison shifts to outside centre to accommodate the arrival of Joe Perawiti in the number 12 jersey.

Save Tokula moves from the midfield to the wing where he is joined by Semisi Masirewa who gets his first ITM Cup start. Masirewa's promotion sees Joe Webber move to full-back.

Canterbury: 15.Colin Slade, 14.Patrick Osborne, 13.Adam Whitelock, 12.Ryan Crotty, 11.Milford Keresoma, 10.Tyler Bleyendaal, 9.Willi Heinz, 8.Luke Whitelock, 7.Matt Todd, 6.George Whitelock (captain), 5.Matt Symons, 4.Joel Everson, 3.Nepo Laulala, 2.Ben Funell, 1.Paea Fa'anunu.
Replacements: 16.Marcel Cummings-Toone, 17.Sione Faletau, 18.Luke Katene, 19.Jordan Taufua, 20.Andy Ellis, 21.Jamie Verran, 22.Belgium Tuatagaloa.

Waikato: 15.Joe Webber, 14.Semisi Masirewa, 13.Jackson Willison, 12.Joe Perawiti, 11.Save Tokula, 10.Wharenui Hawera, 9.Kylem O'Donnell, 8.Adam Burn, 7.Zak Hohneck, 6.Rory Grice, 5.Sam Kilgour, 4.Brian Alainu'uese, 3.Ben Tameifuna, 2.Brayden Mitchell, 1.Toby Smith.
Replacements: 16.Vance Elliott, 17.Paul Alo-Emile, 18.Nick Ross, 19.Jono Armstrong, 20.Mick Snowden, 21.Tim Mikkelson, 22.Trent Renata.

Date: Thursday, August 29
Kick-off: 19:35
Venue: AMI Stadium, Christchurch
Referee: Glen Jackson

  • ITM Cup Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
All times are local
Thursday , October 2
Auckland vs WaikatoAuckland vs Waikato Preview
Friday , October 3
Northland vs North Harbour19:35
Saturday , October 4
Southland vs Counties Manukau14:35
Bay Of Plenty vs Otago17:35
Canterbury vs Tasman19:35
Sunday , October 5
Manawatu vs Hawkes Bay14:35
Wednesday, October 8
Counties Manukau vs Auckland19:35
Thursday , October 9
Waikato vs Bay Of Plenty19:35
Friday , October 10
Otago vs Manawatu19:35
Saturday , October 11
Wellington vs North Harbour14:35
More ITM Cup fixtures
  • ITM Cup Results
Recent Results
All times are local
Wednesday, October 1
Hawkes Bay 36 - 14 WellingtonHawkes Bay vs Wellington Report
Sunday , September 28
Tasman 32 - 24 OtagoTasman vs Otago Report
Canterbury 26 - 28 SouthlandCanterbury vs Southland Report
Saturday , September 27
Waikato 20 - 22 ManawatuWaikato vs Manawatu Report
Counties Manukau 55 - 7 WellingtonCounties Manukau vs Wellington Report
North Harbour 28 - 25 Hawkes Bay
Friday , September 26
Taranaki 35 - 22 AucklandTaranaki vs Auckland Report
Thursday , September 25
Bay Of Plenty 27 - 30 Northland
Wednesday, September 24
North Harbour 29 - 24 CanterburyNorth Harbour vs Canterbury Report
Sunday , September 21
Otago 38 - 7 WaikatoOtago vs Waikato Report
More ITM Cup results
  • ITM Cup Table
Premiership 2014
ITM Cup Table