Planet Rugby

Home semi-final for Wellington

14th October 2012 04:23


Jackson Ormond and Jason Woodward in Wellington v Taranaki

23 points: Lions wing Woodward

Wellington ended the regular season with a comprehensive 33-17 victory against Taranaki at Westpac Stadium that guarantees them a home semi.

The win put the Lions temporarily top of the table but when Canterbury thumped Bay of Plenty, Wellington were left to settle for second spot.

They will host Auckland in the semis next week.

Wellington's tries came from Tim Bateman, Jason Woodward (2) and Scott Fuglistaller, with wing Woodward also kicking thirteen points off the tee.

Taranaki replied with second-half scores from Jason Eaton, James Broadhurst and James Marshall as they end the season in fourth spot.

The scorers:

For Wellington:
Tries: Bateman, Fuglistaller, Woodward 2
Con: Woodward 2
Pen: Woodward 3

For Taranaki:
Tries: Eaton, Broadhurst, Marshall
Con: Barrett

Wellington: 15 Charlie Ngatai, 14 Matt Proctor, 13 Alapati Leiua, 12 Shaun Treeby, 11 Jason Woodward, 10 Tim Bateman, 9 Frae Wilson, 8 Ardie Savea, 7 Scott Fuglistaller, 6 Ross Filipo, 5 Mark Reddish, 4 Jeremy Thrush (c), 3 Jeffery Toomaga-Allen, 2 Dane Coles, 1 Reggie Goodes.
Replacements: 16 Motu Matu'u, 17 Eric Sione, 18 Lua Lokotui, 19 Genesis Mamea, 20 Kayne Hammington, 21 Lima Sopoaga, 22 Ambrose Curtis.

Taranaki: 15 Andre Taylor, 14 Jackson Ormond, 13 Kurt Baker, 12 Jayden Hayward, 11 Frazier Climo, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 Chris Smylie, 8 Jarrad Hoeata, 7 Bernie Hall, 6 Kane Barrett, 5 Jason Eaton, 4 Craig Clarke (c), 3 Michael Bent, 2 Timo Tutavaha, 1 Chris King.
Replacements: 16 Laurence Corlett, 17 Carl Carmichael, 18 James Broadhurst, 19 Blade Thomson, 20 Jamison Gibson-Park, 21 James Marshall, 22 Seta Tamanivalu.

Referee: Bryce Lawrence

  • ITM Cup Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
All times are local
Thursday , August 14
Taranaki vs Counties Manukau12:00
Friday , August 15
Southland vs Bay Of Plenty19:35
Saturday , August 16
Otago vs North Harbour14:35
Canterbury vs Auckland16:35
Wellington vs Waikato16:35
Sunday , August 17
Tasman vs Hawkes Bay14:35
Northland vs Manawatu16:35
Thursday , August 21
North Harbour vs Southland19:35
Friday , August 22
Waikato vs Canterbury18:05
Hawkes Bay vs Taranaki20:05
More ITM Cup fixtures
  • ITM Cup Table
ITM Cup Table
4Counties Manukau1028