Planet Rugby

Preview: Bay of Plenty v Canterbury

22nd August 2011 22:25


Toby Arnold of Bay of Plenty breaks the line

Looking for a change in fortunes: Bay of Plenty

Defending ITM Cup champions Canterbury travel to Mt Maunganui on Tuesday to face early-season pace-setters Bay of Plenty.

It's been a difficult season to predict, but the big guns are starting to fire and Canterbury will be aiming to extend their lead at the top of the standings after a slow start to the 2011 campaign.

Things have gone in the completely opposite direct for the Steamers who - after starting the season at a sprint and racing to four straight wins - have now slumped to four consecutive defeats.

BOP could still turn their season around however as victories in their last two games could see them sneak into the play-offs. Another loss however and the threat of relegation could become very real.

First things first and coach Sean Horan's men will want to bounce back from their uninspired loss to Auckland last week. The team is largely unchanged although wing Ben Smith will look to add some impetus as he has been included in the starting line-up ahead of Jason Hona. In the pack ,Sam Cane starts at openside flank while Luke Braid is given a breather on the bench.

Captain Colin Bourke is backing his team to come right.

"We're definitely good enough to win the last two games if we put our minds to it and nail those little things," Bourke told the local media.

"By no means are we going to throw the towel in yet.

"We are definitely making it hard on ourselves though, in certain aspects of the game, the set piece being a huge one. Without that, we've been playing on the back foot straight away."

Meanwhile, Canterbury will be looking to build on their 27-0 demolition of Taranaki on Saturday.

More to follow...

Bay of Plenty: 15 Toby Arnold, 14 Lelia Masaga, 13 Phil Burleigh, 12 Steve Kefu, 11 Ben Smith, 10 Chris Noakes, 9 Jamie Nutbrown, 8 Colin Bourke (capt), 7 Sam Cane, 6 Tanerau Latimer, 5 Culum Retallick, 4 Leon Power, 3 Josh Hohneck, 2 Dan Perrin, 1 Bronson Murray.
Replacements: 16 John Pareanga, 17 Tristan Moran/Greg Plesants Tate, 18 Luke Andrews, 19 Luke Braid, 20 Josh Hall, 21 Nick McCashin, 22 Jason Hona, 23 Pingi Talaapitaga.

Canterbury: tbc

Date: Tuesday, August 23
Kick-off: 18:05 (07:05 GMT)
Venue: Baypark Stadium, Mount Maunganui

  • ITM Cup Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
All times are local
Wednesday, September 24
North Harbour vs Canterbury19:35
Thursday , September 25
Bay Of Plenty vs Northland19:35
Friday , September 26
Taranaki vs Auckland19:35
Saturday , September 27
Waikato vs Manawatu14:35
Counties Manukau vs Wellington17:35
North Harbour vs Hawkes Bay19:35
Sunday , September 28
Tasman vs Otago14:35
Canterbury vs Southland16:35
Wednesday, October 1
Hawkes Bay vs Wellington19:35
Thursday , October 2
Auckland vs Waikato19:35
More ITM Cup fixtures
  • ITM Cup Results
Recent Results
All times are local
Sunday , September 21
Otago 38 - 7 WaikatoOtago vs Waikato Report
Wellington 20 - 42 TasmanWellington vs Tasman Report
Saturday , September 20
Hawkes Bay 36 - 17 Bay Of Plenty
Auckland 32 - 7 North HarbourAuckland vs North Harbour Report
Manawatu 36 - 17 Southland
Friday , September 19
Counties Manukau 20 - 28 CanterburyCounties Manukau vs Canterbury Report
Thursday , September 18
Northland 20 - 31 TaranakiNorthland vs Taranaki Report
Wednesday, September 17
Southland 14 - 38 TasmanSouthland vs Tasman Report
Sunday , September 14
Waikato 26 - 21 Counties ManukauWaikato vs Counties Manukau Report
Hawkes Bay 41 - 0 Otago
More ITM Cup results
  • ITM Cup Table
Premiership 2014
ITM Cup Table