Planet Rugby

Turbos blow Waikato away

20th August 2011 11:11

Share:

turbos

Manawatu: Charge to record win

Manawatu cruised to an emphatic 54-20 ITM Cup 'crossover' victory over Waikato in Palmerston North on Saturday.

The six tries to two win was set up in the first half, as the Turbos took a 35-17 lead into the break and never looked back.

The hosts were in front 35-3 on the half hour mark, only for the Mooloos to hit back with two tries on the stroke of half-time.

In his final chance to impress ahead of the All Blacks' World Cup squad announcement, fly-half Aaron Cruden put in a masterful performance for Manawatu - scoring one try as well as kicking all of his goals, slotting four penalties and six conversions.

In all, Cruden scored 29 points as the Turbos move clear of Hawke's Bay on the top of the Championship ladder.

Waikato have missed the chance to regain their top spot in the Premiership and sit in second.

The scorers:

For Manawatu:
Tries: Oliver, Clare, Crosswell, Cruden, Tikoirotuma, Marshall
Cons: Cruden 6
Pens: Cruden 4

For Waikato:
Tries: Willison, Tokula
Cons: Renata 2
Pens: Renata 2

  • ITM Cup Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
ITM Cup
Wednesday, September 3
Manawatu vs Bay Of Plenty19:35
Thursday , September 4
Otago vs Canterbury19:35
Friday , September 5
Tasman vs Waikato18:05
Northland vs Hawkes Bay20:05
Saturday , September 6
Auckland vs Wellington14:35
Taranaki vs Southland06:35
Sunday , September 7
Manawatu vs Counties Manukau14:35
Bay Of Plenty vs North Harbour16:35
Wednesday, September 10
Otago vs Northland09:35
Thursday , September 11
Tasman vs Taranaki19:35
More ITM Cup fixtures
  • ITM Cup Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
ITM Cup
Sunday , August 31
Taranaki 41 - 3 Bay Of PlentyTaranaki vs Bay Of Plenty Report
Auckland 16 - 16 TasmanAuckland vs Tasman Report
Saturday , August 30
Counties Manukau 21 - 27 Hawkes BayCounties Manukau vs Hawkes Bay Report
Southland 22 - 33 Otago
North Harbour 16 - 22 WaikatoNorth Harbour vs Waikato Report
Friday , August 29
Wellington 21 - 27 ManawatuWellington vs Manawatu Report
Thursday , August 28
Canterbury 48 - 3 NorthlandCanterbury vs Northland Report
Wednesday, August 27
Waikato 17 - 46 TaranakiWaikato vs Taranaki Report
Sunday , August 24
Manawatu 7 - 35 AucklandManawatu vs Auckland Report
Bay Of Plenty 27 - 56 TasmanBay Of Plenty vs Tasman Report
More ITM Cup results
  • ITM Cup Table
Premiership 2014
ITM Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Canterbury315
2Taranaki413
3Tasman312
4Waikato49
5Counties Manukau38