Planet Rugby

Turbos blow Waikato away

20th August 2011 11:11

Share:

turbos

Manawatu: Charge to record win

Manawatu cruised to an emphatic 54-20 ITM Cup 'crossover' victory over Waikato in Palmerston North on Saturday.

The six tries to two win was set up in the first half, as the Turbos took a 35-17 lead into the break and never looked back.

The hosts were in front 35-3 on the half hour mark, only for the Mooloos to hit back with two tries on the stroke of half-time.

In his final chance to impress ahead of the All Blacks' World Cup squad announcement, fly-half Aaron Cruden put in a masterful performance for Manawatu - scoring one try as well as kicking all of his goals, slotting four penalties and six conversions.

In all, Cruden scored 29 points as the Turbos move clear of Hawke's Bay on the top of the Championship ladder.

Waikato have missed the chance to regain their top spot in the Premiership and sit in second.

The scorers:

For Manawatu:
Tries: Oliver, Clare, Crosswell, Cruden, Tikoirotuma, Marshall
Cons: Cruden 6
Pens: Cruden 4

For Waikato:
Tries: Willison, Tokula
Cons: Renata 2
Pens: Renata 2

  • ITM Cup Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
FixtureDetails
All times are local
ITM Cup
Thursday , September 18
Northland vs TaranakiNorthland vs Taranaki Preview
Friday , September 19
Counties Manukau vs CanterburyCounties Manukau vs Canterbury Preview
Saturday , September 20
Hawkes Bay vs Bay Of Plenty14:35
Auckland vs North Harbour17:35
Manawatu vs Southland19:35
Sunday , September 21
Otago vs Waikato14:35
Wellington vs Tasman14:35
Wellington vs Tasman16:35
Wednesday, September 24
North Harbour vs Canterbury19:35
Thursday , September 25
Bay Of Plenty vs Northland19:35
More ITM Cup fixtures
  • ITM Cup Results
Recent Results
FixtureDetails
All times are local
ITM Cup
Wednesday, September 17
Southland 14 - 38 TasmanSouthland vs Tasman Report
Sunday , September 14
Waikato 26 - 21 Counties ManukauWaikato vs Counties Manukau Report
Hawkes Bay 41 - 0 Otago
Saturday , September 13
Bay Of Plenty 12 - 27 AucklandBay Of Plenty vs Auckland Report
Southland 36 - 34 Northland
Friday , September 12
North Harbour 24 - 13 Manawatu
Canterbury 46 - 12 WellingtonCanterbury vs Wellington Report
Thursday , September 11
Tasman 30 - 31 TaranakiTasman vs Taranaki Report
Wednesday, September 10
Otago 23 - 40 Northland
Sunday , September 7
Manawatu 26 - 10 Counties ManukauManawatu vs Counties Manukau Report
More ITM Cup results
  • ITM Cup Table
Premiership 2014
ITM Cup Table
PosTeamPPts
1Canterbury524
2Taranaki622
3Tasman622
4Auckland515
5Waikato615