Planet Rugby

Canterbury hit form against Taranaki

20th August 2011 08:27


Robbie Fruean scores for Canterbury

Try-time: Robbie Fruean goes over

Canterbury's return to form in the ITM Cup has continued after the defending champions swept past Taranaki 27-0 at Rugby Park on Saturday.

The home side ran in four tries in a convincing display to move to the top of the ITM Cup Premiership table after Waikato failed to bag any points in their loss to Manawatu.

Canterbury, beaten by Taranaki in New Plymouth last year, needed only three minutes to score the first try and were never in danger of losing this match.

Centre Robbie Fruean crashed over Taranaki's whitewash for his team's bonus-point try after 75 minutes and wrapped up the simple win.

The scorers:

For Canterbury:
Tries: McNicholl, Maitland, Parker, Fruean
Cons: Bleyendaal 2
Pen: Bleyendaal

Canterbury: 15 Sean Maitland, 14 Johnny McNicholl, 13 Robbie Fruean, 12 Ryan Crotty, 11 Patrick Osborne, 10 Tyler Bleyendaal, 9 Willi Heinz, 8 Nasi Manu, 7 Matt Todd, 6 George Whitelock (c), 5 Ash Parker, 4 Luke Romano, 3 Nepo Laulala, 2 Ben Funnell, 1 Paea Fa'anunu.
Replacements: 16 Corey Flynn, 17 Joe Moody, 18 Luke Katene/Joel Everson, 19 Brendon O'Connor, 20 Mark Swanepoel, 21 Tom Taylor, 22 Telusa Veainu/Rhys Llewellyn, 23 Andrew Olorenshaw.

Taranaki: 15 Kurt Baker, 14 Waisake Naholo, 13 Isaia Tuifua, 12 Jayden Hayward, 11 Jackson Ormond, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 Brett Goodin, 8 Samuela Vunisa, 7 Scott Waldrom, 6 Ben Souness, 5 Craig Clarke (c), 4 Jason Eaton, 3 Michael Bent, 2 Laurence Corlett, 1 Carl Carmichael.
Replacements: 16 Timo Tutavaha, 17 Shane Cleaver, 18 James Broadhurst, 19 Chris Walker, 20 Tyson Keats, 21 Jack Cameron, 22 Frazier Climo, 23 Willie Ioane.

  • ITM Cup Fixtures
Forthcoming Fixtures
All times are local
Thursday , August 14
Taranaki vs Counties Manukau12:00
Friday , August 15
Southland vs Bay Of Plenty19:35
Saturday , August 16
Otago vs North Harbour14:35
Canterbury vs Auckland16:35
Wellington vs Waikato16:35
Sunday , August 17
Tasman vs Hawkes Bay14:35
Northland vs Manawatu16:35
Thursday , August 21
North Harbour vs Southland19:35
Friday , August 22
Waikato vs Canterbury18:05
Hawkes Bay vs Taranaki20:05
More ITM Cup fixtures
  • ITM Cup Table
ITM Cup Table
4Counties Manukau1028